Skip to content

A Dark, Wet Sky

March 17, 2008

I know I’ve been MIA for the past few days. I doubt anyone even noticed because it seems as if we all have feed readers that can never be silenced, but it is certainly unlike me to leave my blog sitting for nearly four days unattended. I have been writing quite a bit lately, actually, but in letters and daily journals that I’ve been sharing with a friend, on top of my own lyrics and such. It hasn’t sucked me dry of my desire to be here and share with YOU, but it has given me another outlet for my words, and so it seems as though I don’t have to sit on “compose” coming up with drivel just because I feel like writing. Hopefully what that means for YOU is that I’ll be a little more consistently interesting.

I wouldn’t hold your breath though.

I had an incredible weekend at home. My younger brother (I’m so used to calling him “little,” but he’s really not anymore) had an Eagle Scout Court of Honor yesterday, so I went home to be a part of that (I had to give a speech!) and hang out with some family I haven’t seen in a very long time. We’re proud of him.

He had his very own throne. That didn’t go to his head or anything.

We sang “Happy Birthday” to my mom at the reception and the whole crowd joined in. She’s been saying for about four years that she’s “Almost 50!” but yesterday she turned 49, so I guess we believe her now. Maybe she won’t be happy about me broadcasting her age online, but you know what? She’s the one who has been announcing it since she was 45, not me.

I also (finally!) got to meet my cousin’s 14 month old son. He is an incredible little kid, and I wish I could have spent more time with him and his dad, who is one of my favorite cousins. I think I get to see them next weekend when I’m home for Easter, though, and since I’ll be home for the summer, maybe I’ll get to babysit once or twice. I would love it.

Other than that, this week is going to be incredibly busy and full of commitment after commitment after commitment. Some of it should be pretty fun, and some of it is just going to drag me down. Hopefully the weather clears up a bit though, because I have a feeling that the dark gray sky and the wet falling snow had something to do with the fact that I just couldn’t seem to smile today…

I said earlier to someone else, I guess even the Sun feels like a Monday sometimes…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barb permalink
    March 19, 2008 3:27 am

    OK, at least if you are going to broadcast to the whole entire blogging world what my age is, please at least qualify it by saying, “But she looks MUCH younger :)”

Leave a Reply

