Skip to content

Confrontation

April 29, 2008

I had about an hour of downtime this afternoon, and rather than wandering across the street and inevitably curling up in bed, falling asleep, and missing the seminar I wanted to be at, I hung around the music building. It was eerily quiet; my friend J. and I were the only two in the big white hallway for quite sometime. We sat chit-chatting about classes and teachers and jobs and his upcoming wedding, and finally, just as we were running out of things to say to each other, some new entertainment wandered in.

A little blond girl, who I’d seen around but never met, but J. obviously knew on a fairly friendly basis, walked up and asked both of us if we’d passed our piano proficiencies. J. shook his head and said, “Nope. I’m music industry.” She shrugged her shoulders and said, “How about you?” I said, “Nope. I’m industry too.”

She looked almost startled, and then quite indignantly bit, “I thought you were a vocal ed major.”

I wanted to say, “Oh really? Because I was under the impression you were normal.”

Good Lord. People I actually kind of know still make that mistake now and then, but why the need to be offended by it?

“Nope. Sorry. Don’t know what to tell you. I’ve been industry since the day I got here.”

She rolled her eyes and walked away.

One Comment leave one →
  1. David permalink
    April 29, 2008 2:23 pm

    It seems those type of people are attracted to me like night bugs to a light. I don’t know where they come from or what universe they reside. But, they sure don’t reside with the normal people who mind their own business. Kudos to you. I would not have been as polite as you under those conditions.

Leave a Reply

