Skip to content

They should call her Cora

June 22, 2008

Considering that I did just as much learning with Ariel and Belle behind me as I did Reba and Martina, and considering I’ll already have the recording studio thing down pat, and considering that I do have a couple of years of acting training behind me, the following really isn’t so difficult to comprehend.

My name is Courtney, and I want to be a Disney princess.

I don’t mean that I want to put on the big poofy dress and glass slippers and run away in a pumpkin carriage at midnight. I don’t mean that I need sparkling turquoise fins and a big red wig, swimming my way around DisneyLand taking pictures with all the little kiddies. That’s not what I mean at all.

I mean that I want to be the next Disney princess. I want to be the next incarnation of Ariel or Belle or Giselle. I want to sing an Alan Menken song and see my voice coming out of a little cartoon girl dancing with daisies and squirrels. I want to be part of a fairy tale, a fantasy, and yes, be in every little American girl’s DVD library.

You’ve heard me sing. Think I could do it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nico permalink
    June 23, 2008 6:44 pm

    i’ve always wondered how does one get into that kind of business?

    i’ll ask my mom – she actually does work for Disney, even though in the financial sector and not necessarily creative. maybe she’ll have a good tip.

    (btw, i tried to mix “better not settle” because those lyrics hit hard like a freight train. do you happen to have just the vocals somewhere… maybe?)

  2. courtney permalink
    June 27, 2008 12:02 am

    that would be awesome! let me know what she says:)

    i did record better not settle with the click, but like i said, i’m not really great with a click. and i had just written it, so i needed to sing and play at the same time in order to remember the piano part, which means my sense of timing got even worse. i did ask for a backup of the session but i haven’t looked yet to see if i have the whole session or just the one specific song i asked for. i’ll let you know, and if i do, i’ll send you the vocal:)

Leave a Reply

