Skip to content

We’re Only Human

July 24, 2008

Once upon a time, in very late 2004 and very early 2005, between living in ladybug pajamas and painting the basement walls, I read the ever unique Jason Mraz’s online journal front to back. I had fallen in love with his music, and after reading an entry or two in the journal, fallen in love with HIM- or at least what he allowed the world to see, which quite honestly, seemed like quite a bit for such a public figure.

Then, unfortunately, Mr. A-Z happened, and even before anyone in the general public had so much as heard the first single, it became apparent that The Wizard of Oohs and Aahs and Fa-la-las was turning into quite the ass.

Wait, was that just me?

Because, see, I do love Tristan Prettyman, but I’m guessing they were just not right for each other.
Or something.

I’ve said this on my music blog, but I really wasn’t even considering buying Jason’s latest album. I didn’t think much of the last one, I had kind of decided I didn’t like who he’d become as a person (which, really? who knows.) and hadn’t heard any of the buzz this time around that I had heard with Mr. A-Z. Something inspired me to buy it one day though, something I still don’t understand, and I haven’t looked back. It’s an amazing collection of music, and is so lyrically intriguing that even today, after listening to the album at least a hundred times, the 101st led me to a new understanding of at least two of the tunes. That’s something a girl can’t complain about.

I stopped reading his journal a long time ago– I’d come back here and there just to check it out and see if he had anything interesting to say, but usually he didn’t. Usually I was bored, or didn’t know what the hell he was even talking about, or I’d feel preached at. Really, Jason? You put out an album like A-Z and you want to preach at me? Because I understand that it’s not the worst album to ever hit the shelves of the Target electronics section, and I even mildly enjoyed some of it, but it certainly gave you no right to success yourself to Ghandi.

But yesterday, after deciding his music had taken infinite bounds and leaps from the last effort, I decided maybe I should check out the website, and perhaps the journal too, just to see if he had anything interesting to say.

HE DID!

And I find myself feeling much like that pudgy little girl in ladybug pajama pants, sand-colored paint dripped all over her fuzzy orange slippers. I’m feeling like this Mraz person? He’s someone to connect with. He’s someone who has something to say. He’s someone who has taken his own beliefs and has decided to live by example rather than be preachy about them. That’s someone a girl can respect.

Maybe even form a minor crush on.

I have a thing about forming girly grade school crushes on actors who I later learn have major reputations for being huge asses– Zach Braff is one example that comes right to mind. I am also completely in love with Adam Brody (a thing for Jews now, too?) and while I have heard naught of his assheadedness, I have read up on him and am just not convinced that in the real world, we would be cool to date each other. (See, bit of a tangent here- I seem to think that since I’m a musician and would like to be at very least somewhat well-known somewhere down the line, I may have a real chance with one of these boys someday, provided they don’t find themselves a perfect girl and run off and get married before I can build myself some notoriety. Maybe I should just stick with the boys I actually know but are emotionally unavailable? Would I have a better shot at that?) But Mraz? Even when I was totally head-over-heels-may-as-well-have-been-a-fifth-grader in love with him, I knew that we’d never mesh. But after getting himself out of his little self-righteous phase, I see a man that I CAN see myself with, assuming, of course, I become famous and therefore ever have a chance of meeting him and no I’m not holding my breath.

Moral of the story? Not only is the music way better, the man behind the music is way better, and I think that the latter may have something to do with the former.

I don’t know- the way a person conducts himself, especially if he does his conducting in such a public way, really affects the way I view said person’s art. Of course, when the art reflects a person’s actions so clearly anyway… what choice do you have?

Thoughts?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    July 25, 2008 3:02 am

    i’ve always loved Mr. Mraz’s music and I really like the song on the radio now (can’t remember the name of it). Glad you gave him a second chance!

  2. July 25, 2008 2:02 pm

    i like this post a lot. it reminds me of my relationship with certain artists, mraz included. i used to see him in SD at Joe’s, and chased down his music on Napster (RIP). i thought he was genuine, and lost some of that.

    in the end i’ve come away respecting him, which is more than i can say for some other asshats that come to mind…john mayer being the first.

Leave a Reply

