Skip to content

I need help in the bedroom.

August 12, 2008

HEY. Get your dirty mind out of the gutter! That’s not what I meant!

So when I thought I’d be out of the house by the end of August, I had DREAMS of moving into a cute (but likely tiny) little apartment somewhere in the Nashville area. I was imagining how I could decorate my rented space to my slightly modern, mixy-matchy taste, knowing that jewel blue walls were probably out of the picture. My first purchase for my kitchen was going to be a brightly colored teapot (likely red) and I was going to hang photos of Audrey Hepburn in the living room (she’s so classy). I also have a pink and white painting of a ballerina that the Caterpillar painted and gave to me the night we graduated from BSC, and I knew that it had to have some prime wall space as well.

But since I’ve decided to take an internship in the cold, desolate north (I’m SO EXCITED about living through yet ANOTHER Minnesota winter. Not really.) I’ve resigned to staying in a tiny box of a room for six more months. Not only is my room tiny and boxlike, it is COVERED in obnoxious multicolored polka dots, left by the previous (four-year-old) resident. And the walls are neon yellow.

We tried to paint my room the summer we moved in three (four?) years ago, but the polka dots proved to be a much bigger problem than we anticipated. So, half of them look like this:

And since we tried to remove them, some of them look like this:

I didn’t even come home last summer and didn’t honestly plan on it this summer (and most certainly didn’t plan on staying until December) so I gave up on the polka dots and figured they were now my mother’s problem. They were a problem she didn’t care to solve. So now, I’m stuck looking at them until December, or I have to figure out how to get rid of them so they’re not visible even after being painted over.

My NEXT problem is how to create MORE SPACE in this room, or at least the illusion of it. I tried to take pictures to show you just how tiny this room is, but from one end of the room to the other, I couldn’t even manage to fit HALF of one piece of furniture in the frame. I’m not kidding. I have a twin sized bed, a dresser, a fairly small roll-top desk, and a full sized keyboard. The keyboard wouldn’t be so necessary as we’ve got a real piano in the living room, but I like having it next to my computer so that I can record ideas as I write. The roll top houses my computer, and the dresser holds the clothes that don’t fit in my tiny itty bitty closet. Even if I decided I didn’t need any of these pieces of furniture anymore, we wouldn’t have any other place in the house to put them, and they’re not things I want gone for good anyway. The dresser is an antique and the desk isn’t such a big deal except to say I don’t want to have to buy another one in six months.

I want this room to be a little sanctuary. I want to pretend I don’t live with my parents when I’m in here. But the truth is, I’ve gone through and tried to reorganize and rearrange twice already this summer and I don’t know what else to do with it.

So…

Any polka dot removal or fung shui suggestions?

:)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. bigskygirl permalink
    August 12, 2008 5:39 pm

    mirrors. mirrors supposedly create the illusion of space. perhaps on the ceiling? ;)

    i think the dots are cute! but i would get sick of them day after day. what do you think about priming the whole thing and starting over? i wonder how many coats you’d need…

  2. rachel elizabeth permalink
    August 12, 2008 5:50 pm

    big sky is right about the mirrors. prime and paint your walls a neutral color and pick one wall as your “accent”. if you go to a local glass repair place, they should be able to sell you cut mirror glass cheap. get a few of them about 2 ft wide and place them about a foot apart on your accent wall… this will create the illusion of space and break up the color on the wall a little so it isn’t too loud. :o)

    if you can part with something, try to. that was the hardest thing i had to deal with when i was packing up to move, but i realized i wanted more space than i wanted “things”… you know? getting rid of one big thing will open up space so much.

    also… curtains! put the curtain rod above your window a few inches and do a valance with the curtain so cover up the extra space. it will give the room the illusion of being higher. :o)

    candles help create an ambiance…

    oh my god, you can so tell i’ve had my face buried in every issue of dwell and better homes and gardens, cant you?!

  3. courtney permalink
    August 12, 2008 6:58 pm

    thanks guys:)

    mirrors: AWESOME idea. because i definitely want a mirror anyway and i know i’ll be able to repurpose them later on.

    the primer thing? my mom put the kaboosh on that a long time ago. i keep trying to talk her into it, but the problem with the dots isn’t really the color, it’s that the way they’re painted, they leave visible ridges when we try to paint over them. it would take coats and coats of primer to get rid of that.

    and the candles will definitely come out as soon as summer is over. as of right now, i already have the hottest room in the house, and i’m not about to make it worse:)

    thanks girls.

    anyone else?

  4. Bobbie permalink
    August 12, 2008 7:35 pm

    Did you try spackling over the top of the polka-dots and then sanding (like you would covering up a hole in the wall)?. That should fix the visible dot lines and then just paint over the top. You might have to put some primer over the top of the spackle because I think it’s a little more porus than the wall would be and probably suck up more paint.

    Also, if you decide to do an accent wall with mirrors (I think that is a great idea) maybe try painting that wall a different color (remember the one pinkish wall in our house?)

  5. kathymac permalink
    August 12, 2008 8:34 pm

    I’m redundant, but:

    Mirrors Mirrors Mirrors!!

    They make the room seem bigger, and if you get cool-shaped ones, they’ll add some personal flair, too.

    i love decorating with mirrors. i’m gonna do it, once i have a place to decorate. one day….

  6. Glamorous Redneck permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:58 pm

    Well, if primer is out, and they leave ridges, what about repainting them in colors that you like? Although I don't know how you would fix the ones you already tried to fix. The sanding might do it, but time consuming and if you're a perfectionist (like my DH), it'll never be just right. When we repainted my dining room, there was a big ol ridge where CB had put the tape to divide the two colors (we thought we were getting a boarder, so weren't that concerned), and now that we've painted over top of it, you can't notice the ridge unless you run your finger along it.

    As for colors, take the colors you were thinking and tie them together. Make your room blue. Hang your pink ballerina painting and Audrey Hepburn. Besides, if it's the right color blue, and it's the right shade(s) of pink, a little red teapot might make a funky little add-on for a flower vase if nothing else.

    I see it in my head. And if gas wasn't five frillion dollars I would totally take a day trip up there and help you.

    As for organizing, I can't help you there. Can your keyboard go under your bed whilst not in use? Another option might be those space saver bags. I have one that was like $20, but it fit three LARGE comforters, plus about four little fleece blankets and there was still room for more. So, invest in a couple of those (the one I have is stackable & able to be labeled as to what's inside), and put your out of season clothes, extra blankets, etc. in them. Then they'll neatly stack on the floor of your closet & you could maybe eliminate the need for the dresser?

    Yeah, I'm not much help when it comes to being organized. I love organizing things and putting them where they go, I just suck at keeping them there!

    BTW, since miss BSG is commenting here, where in the world did your blog posts go, woman? Are you hiding them from me on purpose???

  7. courtney permalink
    August 12, 2008 10:18 pm

    @bobbie– spackling is now definitely an option.

    @kathymac– i’m definitely going with the mirror thing. thanks to EVERYONE for that suggestion. don’t know why i didn’t think of it myself.

    @glam– i wish i’d thought of repainting them before i smeared them all over the place. i suppose we could put wall color down and THEN paint dots over the existing ones. considering the fact that i’ll be gone in six months, though, i’m sure my parents will say no to that. they want to use this room when i’m finally out for good.

    I am thinking about taking the keyboard down while I’m not using it. It’s too big to fit under the bed though, as I’m already storing other stuff there(including another, smaller keyboard which i kind of need to get rid of– anyone want one?) Either way, even if I just lean it up against the wall in a corner, it will take up a lot less space than it will set up.

    I really can’t get rid of the dresser because I’ve had it FOREVER, it’s antique, I want to keep it for the long run, and there’s no other place in the house to store it. So as long as it’s in my room, I might as well keep stuff in it:)

    AND- bsg moved to wordpress. i just updated her link in my blogroll. go visit:)

  8. Glamorous Redneck permalink
    August 12, 2008 10:52 pm

    Duh, this is what happens when I get interrupted multiple times–I forget what I’ve already read. I knew the dresser was antique.

    How much do you want for said smaller keyboard? Because we need one the kids can mess around on.

  9. courtney permalink
    August 12, 2008 11:17 pm

    for the keyboard? maybe $50-ish. it was $100 when we got it but I really am not too attached to it. I have a stand for it, the power adapter, and the manual/beginner piano book that came with it.

  10. courtney permalink
    August 12, 2008 11:17 pm

    for the keyboard? maybe $50-ish. it was $100 when we got it but I really am not too attached to it. I have a stand for it, the power adapter, and the manual/beginner piano book that came with it.

  11. Glamorous Redneck permalink
    August 13, 2008 3:16 pm

    Hmmm. . .let me discuss with the hubs. Then I’d just HAVE to come and pick it up. Oh, the horror!:)

Leave a Reply

