Skip to content

And so it goes…

November 5, 2008

I’m posting this now without opening my google reader, twitter, or even my myspace and facebook accounts. I know joyous proclamations abound, and I’m in no frame of mind to take in the victorious attitude of the majority of the social networking public.

The truth is, I’m disappointed in the outcome of this election. Over the past few weeks, I’ve truly come to believe in McCain and his stance on most of the issues. With all of my heart, I wanted him to be the next president of the United States.

That’s not to say I’m surprised. I’m not. And that’s not to say I’m inconsolable either. There were a few issues on which I sided with Obama, and those issues were important issues to me– including education. I’m struggling with educational debt right now, and to me it sounded like even though I’m done with school and there’s not much he offered me personally, he could do a world of good for my little brother, who just started college.

That doesn’t change the fact, though, that on issues that are MOST important to me, not only do I dislike Obama’s stances, I completely. disagree. with him. And those, to me, were worth postponing a tiny bit of educational help, LGBT rights, and a few other social things.

I appreciate everyone who voted in this election, especially those who arrived at their polling places educated and informed. It might bother me for quite awhile that I still believe some people went out and voted for the political rock star without really understanding what he stood for (it was pretty damn easy to get swept up in all of the “Change!” and “Barack the Vote!” and “Hope!” stuff–and Obama’s campaign went for the younger demographic hardcore. He was all over the freaking internet) but I do believe that even if Obama can’t do for this country what I felt, at this point, was most important, that at least he can do good.

I just really wish I had the faith in and passion for him that so many of you seem to have.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becs permalink
    November 5, 2008 2:34 pm

    I am totally with you. I took this loss so personally. I cried so hard last night because I was so disappointed. Most of the blogs I read today are saying things like “when I watched Obama’s election speech, I was so proud” or “today will go down in history” and I just can’t be excited. I am broken hearted.

    All we can do is hold our head high and know that at some point Democrats will screw up (like every party does at some point) and then Republicans will sweep back in. Be proud that you actually KNEW why you were voting and did it!

  2. Tracy permalink
    November 5, 2008 3:11 pm

    I’m right there with you, And if its any consolation, most of the status messages i read on myspace showed disappointment, frustration, devastaion, and anger. And surprise that Americans are driven by media and don’t see through the transparency of the president-elect

  3. Becs permalink
    November 5, 2008 3:54 pm

    I don’t understand why people are saying that Obama won by a landslide! Yes, he won, but not my that incredibly much. Democrats could have put ANYONE up there and they would have won.

    A lot of people are also saying that they hope this will unite our country. Huh? How would it do that?

  4. courtney permalink
    November 5, 2008 5:46 pm

    Thanks for your comments, ladies. They mean a lot to me.

    I don’t understand how Obama’s presidency will unite the country either. I think some of Obama’s supporters are of the opinion that ALL of us believe in him as strongly as they do.

    I guess if you look at the electoral votes, it looks like Obama pretty much had the race in the bag, although you’re right, I wouldn’t use the word landslide. However, if you look at the popular vote, the race was pretty damn close.

    I don’t feel like we’re united at all. I feel like we are incredibly divided as a country right now.

  5. Glamorous Redneck permalink
    November 5, 2008 7:29 pm

    I feel like a deflated balloon. My Novel professor reminded me, however, that what happened last night truly was something amazing. The majority of our nation voted an African American into the highest office in the land. Whether he’s Republican, Democrat, or some other odd party that no one has heard of, the collective nation looked beyond the color of skin and voted solely on the issues they believed most important. And that is huge, considering that 50 years ago there were still segregated bathrooms.

    So, I’m very proud of how far we’ve come, but a little leery of the direction we’re headed. If that makes any sense whatsoever.

  6. courtney permalink
    November 5, 2008 7:37 pm

    last night when i was talking to my parents about this election and elections in general, i kept bringing up myself as a fifth grader. That year is very vivid to me for reasons I don’t completely understand, but I remember being so full of life, and a desire to learn, and a belief that our world was better now than it ever had been and would keep getting better.

    I’m not that little girl anymore, I don’t always hold that belief of perpetual good like I used to, but parts of her and her beliefs certainly live on… and the little fifth grade Courtney in me WAS rooting for Obama. I love seeing history we can be proud of being made. I do love the fact that we have elected our first black president…

    But I’m still not sure he was the RIGHT choice.

  7. Becs permalink
    November 5, 2008 7:51 pm

    I also have an issue with how big of a deal everyone is making of this. I was taught that race doesn’t matter. If that were the case, why is that all I am hearing today? The first BLACK man was elected! Why is the fact that he is black being emphasized so much if race isn’t supposed to matter?

    I don’t think that a popular vote of 52% and 46% is exactly winning by a landslide. Interesting article about that: http://elections.foxnews.com/2008/11/05/obama-victory-resounding-landslide/

  8. Nico permalink
    November 6, 2008 5:47 am

    I’ve said this before and it had worked in helping you feel better, so I’m going to suggest again that this may be lyrical material — and a good place to start is that line you wrote about wishing you had the same faith and passion all of ‘you’ seem to have.

    Seriously, good line. Why not use it? Possibly a chorus, even?

    …Does this comment mean I have a one-track mind? Dang.

  9. courtney permalink
    November 6, 2008 6:00 am

    nico, i’m way ahead of you:) song: written. although I didn’t use that line in it at all… which saddens me because now that you mention it, i think there’s a lyric in there too. hmm.

Leave a Reply

