Skip to content

NaSoAlMo

November 17, 2008

So we all know about NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo because we’re bloggers and we write… but some of you may not be aware that there is also a NaSoAlMo taking place this November as well– and that translates to National Solo Album Month. I participated the last two years (made it in 06, tanked in 07) but decided not to do it this year because of unpredictable schedules and other priorities (like graduation and stuff).

The rules are a little fuzzy to me right now, but the main goal is to write and record an album in one month– I think it was either 11 songs or 28 minutes, (or both) and one song could be a cover song. So technically, you only needed to write 10 songs.

I bring this up only because I’m starting to think maybe I should have done it. It’s only the 16th and I’ve already written most of seven songs (and I always record them when I’m done because it’s easier than writing it all down). That’s way more than half way.

I just have a feeling that if I’d had to write that many songs, it really wouldn’t have happened.

Oh well.

Because I used to do this back when I was NaSoAlMo-ing, I’m just gonna list the titles… for the hell of it. When November’s over I’ll give you a list of all the new ones.

  1. Just Another Day (November 5)
  2. Conquer (November 6)
  3. Rainbow (November 8)
  4. Alright (November 11)
  5. Don’t Mess With Me (November 14)
  6. Balloons (November 16)
  7. Michelle (November 16)

And here’s a weird development: way more of those are upbeat than not. I am usually better known as “Ballad Girl,” so that’s definitely a loop. Weird.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bigskygirl permalink
    November 17, 2008 6:39 am

    ooooh. i’m excited! i love the upbeat ones!! :) well i love them allllll of course, but i especially love the upbeat ones!! :)

  2. Nico permalink
    November 18, 2008 7:36 am

    Grrr your prolific nature makes me jealous.

    BUT it also does make me stoked that we’ll get to hear even more stuff from you soon!

Leave a Reply

