Skip to content

Continuum

November 18, 2008

We’re listening to John Mayer’s Continuum in the office this morning. In my opinion, almost nothing in the world is better than John Mayer’s Continuum, and as far as music goes, nothing but Room For Squares is better (many may equal it’s greatness, yes, but none shall ever surpass)(and I think the only reason I believe Room For Squares is better is because I associate so many wonderful things with it).

John Mayer speaks for everyone with Continuum.

The themes are universal, the lyrics are incredibly insightful, and the sound is just so… easy, without being “easy listening.” It’s rock and roll, it’s pure, unadulterated musicianship, it’s near perfection.

I’ve always been impressed with John Mayer’s way with words and melody, from “today skies are painted colors of a cowboy cliche, and strange how clouds that look like mountains in the sky are next to mountains anyway,” to “I played a quick game of chess with the salt and pepper shaker,” to “girls become lovers who turn into mothers, so mother’s be good to your daughters, too.” But Continuum is on another level. It is the human condition. We’re waiting on the world to change. We’re in repair– not together, but getting there. So scared of older, only good at being young. Slow dancing in a burning room. Not the people we used to be lately. We all believe. Dream with a broken heart. We’re bold as love.

And we know the heart of life is good.

I was on twitter a bit ago just posting lyric after lyric as I was hearing them. Within seconds I had so many @ replies I didn’t know what to do with myself. “Love that song!” “This one’s my favorite!” “John Mayer, sigh.” Yeah– John’s got it all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    November 18, 2008 9:36 pm

    I haven’t really paid much attention to John’s lyrics, still I’m a big fan of his music. So I get this feeling from your post that there’s even more in his music than I have figured :)

Leave a Reply

