Skip to content

Monday

December 9, 2008

So, I did not rock the Kevin Steinman show tonight, accompanied or alone. I had every intention of going! I did! But this thing called Minnesota and this other thing called Weather made driving home from work an ordeal. I didn’t really want to drive all the way into Minneapolis at 45 miles an hour. I love KS, but he’ll play again. Hopefully on a non-snowy night.

We drew Secret Santa names at work today. Y’all gotta help me out here, because I absolutely love the girl I’m buying for, but our price limit is five bucks. FIVE. What can you buy for that anymore? I refuse to dig through the $5 DVD bin at Walmart. Not happening. So, any cute ideas for approximately $5? I can’t order anything because we’re doing a gift per week and it would never get here in time. Please help me!

In other news, tomorrow is my last official day as a music industry intern. We were supposed to plan a team party, and although we had some really great things in the works, we never really settled on a solid date so we never had the party. This bums me out because, really, we were making our own version of “Don’t Forget The Lyrics” and it was going to be a blasty-blast. Oh well, though, I say, because I made a huge batch of chocolate chip cookies tonight and they’re going with me into the city tomorrow. Tasty goodness for all!

I officially have a date for our holiday party at the label, though, and I’m very excited. His name is Actor, and he’s totally just coming for the free alcohol, but who are we kidding? So am I. Wine! Guitar Hero! Classy!

And…

Audio Geek called tonight.

One of the things I always really loved about him wasn’t necessarily his ability to make me laugh, because many guys have been able to make me laugh, but my ability to make him laugh. I’m a goofball and a little hyper sometimes, and while some have been known to just roll their eyes at that particular quality of mine, and I haven’t been comfortable enough to be so quirky around others, he kind of inspired it in me and tended to giggle ridiculously whenever I was feeling particularly silly. I noticed again tonight that just being myself made him genuinely laugh– not in a “you’re ridiculous” kind of way but in a “you’re cute and entertaining” kind of way. Who can blame a girl for falling for a guy who sees that in her?

We talked a bit, caught up on life, exchanged a bit of witty banter, and hung up. It was strange because I literally asked the question, “How was your semester?” and he had a lot to tell me… yet it seemed like it was as easy, maybe easier, to talk than ever.

And it looks like I might actually see him in a few weeks. We’ll see.

If you follow me on twitter, you might have noticed a comment or two about Eagle Scout lately as well… we’ve been talking quite a bit over the last week or two. I may have mentioned that he’s planning on moving back to Minnesota, which excites me, I can’t lie. A conversation we had last night sent my head teetering a little bit, though. He told me that I’m basically the only one he can talk to about this move because I’m the only one who isn’t being a big ol’ Negative Nancy about it all. He went on and on, and I just felt like… the way he said it all was a little… well, you know.

Sometimes (or, you know, often) I just feel like I have the right to sit here and point and say “I told you so! I was soooooooo good for you and you gave it up. For what? Yeah, that’s what I thought.” Maybe that sounds a little egotistical, but there’s a reason these guys are still my friends, a reason they come back to me when they need a real friend. Because I am one. I tend not to let our stupid, screwed up pasts get in the way.

Although I’m not always opposed to failing to learn from my mistakes. But you guys know that already.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bobbie permalink
    December 9, 2008 6:45 pm

    Brice and I are doing this for his family’s gift exchange. Make up some home made hot chocolate mix (I can email you a recipe later that I found that sounds yummy) and then put it in a fancy jar. I don’t think the ingredients should cost more than that.

Leave a Reply

