Skip to content

The Best Day

January 8, 2009

It’s hard to get me to make plans sometimes. I never know what I feel like doing, half the time I’m not sure I feel like doing anything, and even though I’m usually pretty willing to go along with anything (within reason), I just get anxious about my fun getting in the way of being able to fulfill my responsibilities. I don’t always like my responsibilities. Who does? But I’m not one to purposely put myself in a position that may prohibit me from doing what I need to do.

My lovely friend The Caterpillar (she needs a new name, but I don’t have one at the moment) drove down to see me yesterday. I’m leaving, you know, and we had to see each other before I left the state on some yet undetermined date next week. But because her trip was a last minute decision, I couldn’t change my work schedule around, and she had rehearsals to be at, so we really didn’t have much time to spend together. We had to make the most of what we had.

And she really wanted to go into the city. This made me anxious because I had to work this afternoon and I just couldn’t think of anything worthwhile to do in the morning, and I knew we’d never get up in time to spend a decent amount of time there. I was afraid it would be a wasted trip, I was afraid the roads would suck, the traffic would be awful, some unforseen circumstance would arise and we’d be stuck in the city and I would not make it back in time to work.

Well, I guess I’m wrong sometimes.

She and Actor and I all went to college together back in the days of North Dakota and music theory and theater, and since she hadn’t seen him in such a long time, and also because I’m trying to see absolutely everyone at least once more before I go, I suggested we make plans with him. He wanted to do lunch, so I conceded to the city plan and we got up this morning, made fried egg sandwiches, and drove into Minneapolis.

We brought my new GPS, too. Not that we needed it. I’ve got downtown Minneapolis down by now, but I haven’t really gotten to play with it yet. We set it to speak British at me and named it (at least that particular voice) Beatrice. None of this paragraph mattered. I just wanted to share.

Anyway, we parked in my usual garage and because it was a tad bit chilly this morning, we decided to take the skyway. My little country bumpkin hadn’t ever been into the city just to do normal city things, and it was funny how entertained she was by the intricate skyway, all the people in their business-wear, and most of all, the food court on the bottom floor of Macy’s. Macy’s! Has a food court! Truly endearing, friends. I mean, at some point a few years ago, I was making the same exclamations about that particular Macy’s and it’s range of culinary offerings. It was funny to see someone else doing the same thing.

We met up with Actor and shopped a bit, and then found an amazing seafood restaurant at which to spend the rest of our time together. I’ll admit it right now: I’ve never eaten at any seafood restaurant but Red Lobster. Seriously. And it’s been quite a long time since I’ve even been there.

At any rate, I stayed fairly safe and ordered a coconut shrimp salad, but it was deliciously incredible. The other two ordered some other scrumptiousness, and The Caterpillar paid. Because she’s crazy.

And I needn’t have worried about getting home in time to work. We came home, decided we had some time, and headed to Starbucks. That was my second coffee of the day, but this one was full of caramel and steamed soymilk with tons of foam, and well, that shot my energy level right through the roof.

We came back to the house, and as she got her stuff ready to take out to her car, I checked my email quickly to find some really fantastic news.

I shared it with her. We hugged goodbye. I went to work, worked faster and more cheerfully than I have in a very long time, and made it home 45 minutes earlier than scheduled.

Yes, it was the very best day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

