Skip to content

Empty Houses

January 9, 2009

My dad is leaving in the morning.

Without going into too much detail, let’s just say he has a very cool opportunity to earn some credit towards his masters degree in D.C. He’ll be gone until the middle of March.

Two days later, my brother will go back to school.

A day or two after that, I’ll also be moving out, so far away that I’ve gotta crash in Chicago on the way to the final destination. I won’t be available for quick road trips home on the weekends, that’s for sure.

My poor mom. She’s been looking forward to her “empty nest” but I think she always imagined she’d get to share it with my dad.

When he first took the job here in Minnesota, I was already in college, but my mom and brother stayed in Montana to finish the school year while my dad moved east to take advantage of this wonderful opportunity. From March until the end of May, they didn’t see much of each other. Considering that, one has to think, well, they did it before. They can do it again.

But at least she had my brother then.

This time she’ll be alone.

It’s only two months, I guess.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. reederscorner permalink
    January 9, 2009 2:15 pm

    Oh My! You’re all clearing out, aren’t ya??? Maybe your Mom will love being in an empty house…2 months isn’t too bad.

  2. Hazel permalink
    January 9, 2009 3:15 pm

    who knows, maybe she’ll rediscover some hobbies she used to have or finally get to watch a few chick flicks she hasn’t been able to watch yet or read some really great books she’s been meaning to read. Two months isn’t bad and maybe it will give her a renewed respect for her relationship with your dad.

    I’m sure it will all work out.

  3. Bobbie permalink
    January 9, 2009 5:21 pm

    I can send Karsten over any time to help liven up the house a little!

  4. rachel elizabeth permalink
    January 9, 2009 5:32 pm

    she will probably enjoy it while it lasts! man, i would love a quiet house.

Leave a Reply

