Skip to content

Forthcoming

January 9, 2009


If there’s one thing I’ve learned about myself in the past four years of moving around, it’s that the best way to learn your way around a new place is to just purposely get lost, then drive around until you recognize something and figure out how you got there. It’s good times, and works great for places the size of Bismarck or Fargo, ND, and will probably work out just fine for my new place of residence in TN. Also, I’ve got a GPS now, so that should make life easier.

Bigger cities are tougher, though. There are so many more one way streets to deal with, and by the time you decide you need to turn left you realize you’re in the far right lane and the traffic behind you is lined up at least a block long. When in Minneapolis, I’ve taken to parking in the same spot and walking, no matter how far my next destination is from my parking spot. Weather isn’t an issue because of the skyways, and it’s good exercise.

Either way, though, it’s fun getting to experience a new city not really knowing what to expect. This is something I’m really looking forward to in the next week or so.

Look, I obviously have some pressing responsibilities to take care of as soon as I pull into the driveway and get my car unloaded, most importantly finding a quick and flexible source of income so that I can make money and then focus on finding either a more permanent job or writing songs, or both. But after that, the thing I want to do most is find a place to park my car in downtown Nashville and just walk, camera in hand. Yeah, I’ll look like a tourist, but I’m okay with that. That city will only be new to me for a very short amount of time, and while I can’t say a city is best when it’s brand new, there is something magical about seeing the skyline for the first time, finding your first cup of coffee, and for example, seeing the Spoonbridge and Cherry through the trees on your way into Minneapolis. You never get to do any of it for the first time twice, and I plan to take full advantage of it.

My one regret is that I didn’t spend more time in Minneapolis just enjoying what the city had to offer. I was just becoming acquainted with it, and now I’m leaving. But Nashville and I were meant to be together and we can all rest assured that I’ll be spending as much time there as possible.

All of this is a long winded way of saying:
Expect Photos.

One Comment leave one →
  1. rachel elizabeth permalink
    January 9, 2009 7:56 pm

    i can’t wait to see the pictures!!

Leave a Reply

