Skip to content

"When I was little, I thought ‘Tetris’ was Russian for ‘Bling-ling-ling-ling!’"-my brother

January 13, 2009

When I asked for advice on the best way to pack a tiny car and move across the country, I got one response. Lucky me, it was from one of the smartest people I know. And she said, “Find someone who is good at Tetris. I’m serious.”

I read that and thought, HOORAY. I am good at Tetris. I am a Tetris MASTER.

And today, friends, I have proven myself. I am indeed a Tetris Queen.

I’d done a lot of packing up my car and moving here and there, so I did have a good idea of which containers to use and what would fit where the best, but even as I surveyed my pile of boxes sitting in the living room this morning, I began to have doubts. Really? All of this is going to fit in that tiny little car? Also, it’s 20 below outside today, and I have to be out there maneuvering this stuff all over the place! bah!

But it turns out that I’m just awesome, I have to tell you. I mean, not to toot my own horn or anything, but I just am. Even the keyboard which I was supremely worried about getting in the car at all from the very beginning fit in the first place I put it.

Tetris. Queen.

So now the last bit of loading up I have to do involves this computer, which calls shotgun every single trip, I don’t know how it pulls it off, I think my other belongings are getting a little irritated with it, to be quite honest. I mean, I spend the most time with it when we’re home, and then when I road trip with it it’s always in front with me. Lucky thing. Oh, also the big box my tiny TV and VCR are in. They’ll go in the front with me too.

And then I’m off to Chicago.
And then Nashville.

I know we’re working on getting internet but I’m not sure exactly when we’ll have it set up, so I don’t know when I’ll be back. I’ll be tweeting occasionally, but that’s all I can promise.

So, until we see each other again, friends-
Stay warm.
Stay beautiful.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    January 13, 2009 5:06 pm

    good luck and safe travels! see you on the flip side :)

  2. kathymac permalink
    January 13, 2009 5:19 pm

    that’s the best compliment EVER!!

    I heart you.

    safe travels!

  3. rachel elizabeth permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:54 pm

    stay safe! have fun in chi-town! can’t wait to hear all about it when you’re set up in tennessee!!!

  4. Nico permalink
    January 14, 2009 1:10 am

    I KNEW IT! When my brother and I go on the road, we always brag that our musical equipment fits perfectly snug and creates space because we were raised on Tetris, and you have totally supported this claim!

    And you’ll do fine on the road. I mean, come on, you’re a musician. You’re made for this!

  5. curlygirl613 permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:35 am

    If you have a laptop, this whole town is practically wi-fi, so don’t fret too much. There’s a place called JJ’s Market that has free Wi-Fi and free access to their computers. Welcome to The South! But next time, leave the single digit weather behind :-)

  6. Glamorous Redneck permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:58 am

    If I haven’t said it before, I’m saying it now: I’m so damn proud of you for sticking with your dreams and following them across the country. You are my hero. Safe travels in this crappy weather!

  7. nicoleantoinette permalink
    January 15, 2009 7:38 am

    You know what’s odd? This is the third time today someone has referenced or brought up Tetris. Which isn’t a normal topic in my life. Huh.

Leave a Reply

