Skip to content

The Real Thing

January 16, 2009

This just in:

Having access to the internet completely halts all unpacking productivity. You should see my floor. It’s scary.

Also, for as much as I’ve been all, “Yay! 20 degrees! Happy dance!” We don’t know what our utilities bills are going to look like so we’re keeping the heat low and I’m cooooooold. I’m currently wearing three shirts and two pairs of socks.

Good news is, I think I have a job.

and before I forget and move on, I have to say thanks to everyone for the well wishes on the last blog post. Also to everyone who said “hey” on twitter, facebook and myspace. The roads were beautiful most of the way, I hate Illinois but apparently it’s nothing compared to Pennsylvania, and I am now officially in a house in Tennessee. Welcome to my new life, friends.

So, where should we start?

I have to tell y’all (see me? using “y’all” in every day conversation already? I’m a very aural person and my new roommate is from Mississippi. I mimic her accent while I’m talking to her without even realizing it.) that the first day of my trip could not have been better. I didn’t mention this before I left (well, I mentioned it on twitter) but the wonderful, talented, supremely handsome d-blogged put me up for the night in Chicago. (He has the biggest, softest couch ever. I kind of never wanted to leave it.) I’d never been to Chicago, and it’s a shame I couldn’t have been there for any other reason than sleep, because what I saw of the city that night, even in the dark and under the snow, was quite beautiful.

Now I’ve met a few bloggers before, and they’ve been exactly what I expected them to be. Their blogs were wonderful reflections of who they really were. I have to be honest, though. It wasn’t quite that way with D. And honestly, I don’t know what I expected. Don’t get me wrong– he doesn’t misrepresent himself at all. He is exactly who he says he is, down to the smallest detail you can find. I think I just had him up on some sort of blogging pedestal. But when I showed up, he met me out at my car with a big smile on his face and I heard him say my name for the first time, and I realized he was just this really great guy. It’s like those moments where you realize your favorite singers, actors, authors, anybody you look up to, really, are real people too.

He was a really wonderful host. I spent the whole night getting to know the “person behind the blog,” as did he. We shared stories, laughed at the same things, discussed (of course) 20sb, and wondered together who the heck the Kardashians are and why we care anyway. He held the doors, paid for dinner, and cleaned the snow off my car for me in the morning.

Not at all the serial killer my mother was expecting when I told her that I was staying with someone I knew from my blog, gasp!

Yes, mother. I still have my kidneys.

But that’s the thing about bloggers. We spend all of this time reading what are pretty much the diaries of other people, all the while writing our own public diaries. There are frauds out there, but we’re a pretty smart bunch. We tend to weed out the liars pretty quickly and efficiently. So the ones we read, and have been reading forever… it’s like having another set of best friends.

I mean, I saw Fiddler today for the first time in a year, but we’ve spent so much time on the phone with each other lately, that it hardly felt like it. He walked in and it felt like I saw him yesterday.

So once I got over the whole “there’s a real D behind d-blogged!” thing… yeah. It was like hanging out with an old friend.

A really cute old friend.

Oh, I’m sorry. I should I save the inadvertant flirting for twitter?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    January 16, 2009 3:11 pm

    yay, i’m so glad you made it safely and met a wonderful blogger on the way!

    p.s. i love your new sidebar photo!

  2. rachel elizabeth permalink
    January 16, 2009 6:23 pm

    i love this. i do. it sounds like you two lovebirds had a blast. :) lucky dog. xoxo

  3. January 25, 2009 7:56 pm

    obviously i’m using my sunday to catch up on my reader, so i wanted to thank you for this little recap:) i’m quite happy you enjoyed your overnight in chicago; i did as well.

    i’m really not that cute…it was the dark restaurant.

    :)

Leave a Reply

