Skip to content

Delicious

January 18, 2009

We were sitting on his couch chatting between funny moments of How I Met Your Mother the other night when I told d I couldn’t cook. He replied, obviously a little surprised, “Really?”

No, actually. I have no idea why I just said that. I can cook. On occasion of love to cook.

I mean, at very least, I can follow a recipe.

I just don’t get to. I never really have the chance.

By the time I was cooking for myself and not eating cafeteria food consistently, I had also forgone the possibility of having a job for some time so I could focus on my grades and finish school with a decent GPA. I was living on my student loans. It wasn’t always fun. I know that eating well doesn’t have to be expensive, but the stuff I was living on was usually the knock-off of the cheap stuff. Campbell’s potato soup was $1.20 but that stuff over there was $.99, so that’s what I picked up.

I always went home with a lot of stuff and a very small bill. I got pretty good at shopping like that.

But I didn’t have a good freezer, or an oven. I had a stove top and a microwave, a small fridge, and a smaller budget. So I haven’t become any kind of gourmet chef.

And sad to say, I’m not sure life is going to be much different for awhile. The fridge has gotten bigger. The budget hasn’t.

I love food, though. I think it’s a beautiful thing. I’ll try almost anything once (with the new exception of anything with dairy in it. I have to be careful about that, which totally bums me out), and hopefully someday I’ll have a little extra money and a little extra time, and I can learn to make delicious food. I’d really love to learn what flavors and colors and textures and all of that kind of stuff go well together. I’d love to learn the health value of everything I cook and everything I eat. I have a feeling that someday I’m going to turn into a real health nut, at least when it comes to the dietary side of it. But that’s only someday when I’ve got a slightly larger income.

I’m hoping that there’s a Someday in my life which includes a beautiful man who already knows how to cook (I’ve learned recently that they exist. Oh my, do they exist) and that one of his great joys in life will be to help me learn. I want to be the woman with the stereo blasting, singing into a spoon, my hair all up in a mess and flour on my nose, while my husband stands across the island from me chopping up the onions, shaking his head and smiling.

Who cares if we make it well or not? That dinner’s gonna taste good.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mai permalink
    January 19, 2009 12:43 am

    i feel the same way about food…

    but i need to learn how to budget better and get a lot of food for a lot haha. blah right now i’m in a weird stage where i have no money to buy organic and sustainable foods and no cage, free roam, vegetarian eggs but i DO. at the same time,i have no regrets haha.

  2. bigskygirl permalink
    January 19, 2009 4:50 am

    ah, yes. is so super. also super? when you have a bff who helps you plan a dinner. love you. :)

  3. blondeamblission permalink
    January 19, 2009 6:26 am

    I’m going to be a bad influence, buuuutttt….

    One day when you want to splurge on your healthy food and diet, go downtown to Rotier’s. Best. Burgers. Ever. Sambuca in the gulch is really amazing too and Tayste is a green restaurant in Hillsboro Village that’s a nice treat too. A little pricey but worth it!!!

  4. courtney permalink
    January 19, 2009 3:30 pm

    @blondeamblission i think you’re my new favorite :)

  5. reederscorner permalink
    January 19, 2009 10:55 pm

    I’m banking on the beautiful husband that knows how to cook as well…

Leave a Reply

