Skip to content

Cum Laude with Strawberry Lips

January 26, 2009

I promise, this is the last you’ll ever have to hear about school (except maybe for the day I actually get my diploma in the mail. Are they called diplomas when you finish a real college degree? ha.) but even though I got word last week that my final outstanding grade had been turned into the registrar, I had no idea what that grade would be.

It was an A.

Score.

I counted up all the classes I took that semester. Nine. Classes.

Yes, I’m crazy.

And in all but one of them, I got an A.

Forgive me for being really proud of myself. The middle few years of my higher education I got a little apathetic, so it’s really nice to look at the hard work I did last year and see it pay off.

I’ve been singing Phil Vassar all morning. I always sing along with Phil Vassar when I’m in an especially good mood. Especially when I come across lyrics like, “you were cum laude, with strawberry lips, you had the whole world danglin’ at your fingertips…”

How did you know, Phil? How did you know that was me?

Speaking of paying off, though, let’s see if we can make this college degree actually pay off.

I promised myself I wouldn’t do this, but I decided to just look for a real job rather running around town picking up more soul-sucking part-time job applications. Well, at least for today, that’s what I decided. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll fall back into that big mystery we call sense, and I’ll go out and find some sort of immediate source of income.

I did already turn in a resume at a music store to hopefully start teaching voice and piano, so if I get that, it’ll be something. I wish I could just teach out of the house. Stupid lease agreement.

So anyway, back to the job hunt.
Did you know Neal McCoy closed down 903 Music a year and a half ago? That is so extremely disappointing.

Also, I apparently pay very close attention, don’t I?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. blondeamblission permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:17 pm

    Woohoo!! Congrats on the A!

  2. Glamorous Redneck permalink
    January 27, 2009 5:21 am

    Aaah, the satisfaction of success! Love those A’s! :)

Leave a Reply

