Skip to content

Harmonic Masochists

January 28, 2009

So maybe you don’t know who the Punch Brothers are. The boys in the band seem to accept that, and they even joke about it quite a bit. But I am not content to let another day go by without telling you that

YOU MUST LISTEN TO THE PUNCH BROTHERS.

Thank you.

I mean, really, they’re brilliant. I understand that bluegrass is not for everyone. I understand that classical music is not for everyone. But these guys meld the two together seamlessly with lots of other flavor thrown in. Sure, there was the four-movement piece completely composed by mandolinist, Chris Thile, and yeah, there were some old classic bluegrass tunes, but there were also songs by Jack White, Wilco, and The Strokes.

The Punch Brothers know no boundaries.

Also, Chris is pretty damn cute, if I do say so myself.

Those fingers! Wrapped around my shoulder! Those are virtuosic mandolin playing fingers!

And when I told him I saw him with Nickel Creek in Minneapolis and that I developed a huge crush on him, he smiled a big smile and gave me a HUGE hug, like it was the cutest thing he’d heard all night. And then I told him I wrote him a song. And he told me to send it to him.

Have I mentioned lately how much I love Nashville?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. curlygirl613 permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:18 pm

    That’s a cute lookin couple right there!!

    Here’s your questions:
    1.) What song do you most wish you had written and why?
    2.) What is your morning ritual?
    3.) If you could take back one thing you said in your life, what would it be?
    4.) What profession, other than the one you’re in (or working towards) would you want to attempt?
    5.) What would you like to hear God say when you enter Heaven?

  2. curlygirl613 permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:18 pm

    That’s a cute lookin couple right there!!

    Here’s your questions:
    1.) What song do you most wish you had written and why?
    2.) What is your morning ritual?
    3.) If you could take back one thing you said in your life, what would it be?
    4.) What profession, other than the one you’re in (or working towards) would you want to attempt?
    5.) What would you like to hear God say when you enter Heaven?

Leave a Reply

