Skip to content

This is your brain…

January 28, 2009

Remember those “This is your brain. This is your brain on DRUGS” commercials? With the goopy egg simmering around in a frying pan? Ooh, scary. My brain might turn into an undercooked fried egg.

Who is going to believe that unless they’re already smoking dope?

Eh. Maybe that was the point.

My point is that that’s what my brain feels like right now, and I’m not even hitting the hard stuff. The last two weeks have been a roller coaster of ups and downs, successes and hardships, and I’m left wondering where my happy medium should be. I’ve lined up a respectable amount of opportunities and appointments, but none have actually been set in stone. No dates, no contracts, no nothing. Just assumptions (hope?) that the people getting my hopes up are going to keep their word. And as far as an actual source of income? Well, right now, that’s laughable. I stopped at about 15 places yesterday. I only came out with two applications. It’s a little scary.

To add to all of that, I’m crazy. It’s true. I’m absolutely effing crazy. After the dating fiasco that was my senior year of college, I finally slipped back into some sort of respectable single sanity. I was alone. I was cool with that. I wasn’t looking for anything, I wasn’t hoping for anything. And I kind of expected that to continue, honestly, at least until I’d been here awhile and started to meet people.

But something happened. Something that’s at least half my fault, but whatever. And now my brain is one big undercooked fried egg.

Yum.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nico permalink
    January 29, 2009 3:29 am

    You should add cilantro while the egg is still uncooked, that way you’ve a tasty omelete-ish type thing when your brain is done cooking.

    Besides, crazy is way more interesting than the alternative, am I right?

  2. kathymac permalink
    January 29, 2009 4:07 am

    Uh ohhhhhhh……

    And also: Exciting!

    or…at least one of the two.

    Y’know, though….having that to obsess about might make the other, becoming-incredibly-important-and-famous stuff less intimidating.

  3. courtney permalink
    January 29, 2009 4:24 am

    nico- omelette brain!

    kathy- valid. very valid.

Leave a Reply

