Skip to content

Five Questions

January 29, 2009

The very wonderful and lovely Curly Girl has interviewed me, friends. The questions are wonderful. Are you ready to hear the answers?

Here are the rules:

A.) Leave me a comment saying, “Interview Me!” or raise your hand or something to that effect
B.) I’ll respond with 5 questions of my choice for you to answer
C.) You update your blog with the answers to the questions
D.) You include “The Rules”/the offer to interview other people
E.) Eat a blueberry… not really.. let’s go, shall we?

1.) What song do you most wish you had written and why?

This is SO HARD. There are a million songs I’ve always loved, and I’ve loved them all for very different reasons. One that comes to mind right now is Carousel by Cadillac Sky. It’s a beautiful, honest look at love. The melody and music are simple, but combined with the lyrics, I think it’s incredibly powerful.

Most the time I think I have the commercial pop ballad thing down. I can do that. It’s these slightly more introspective, metaphorical beauties that I can’t seem to make my creative side muster up, and I really, really wish I could.

2.) What is your morning ritual?

Right now, I really don’t have one. I haven’t had one in months, because I was just working retail and sometimes I went to work at 8 in the morning and sometimes I went to work at 5 at night. It left a lot of room for fudging. The last time I had a consistent routine was my last semester of school. I’d wake up, turn the television to lifetime so The Golden Girls and Frasier could keep me company for the next hour, make coffee, check my email, maybe read a blog or two, and sit at my desk getting ready. Then I just had to walk across the street to class. Nothing fancy, really, but fairly consistent.

3.) If you could take back one thing you said in your life, what would it be?

You know, I don’t say a lot of things I end up regretting, and I don’t remember many of the specifics of the things I say. I do remember being a really obnoxious, difficult kid to deal with for my mother, and I told her I hated her on more than one occasion. I wish I knew then how much that could have (and probably did) hurt her, because I never actually meant it. I just needed to say something and didn’t have the emotional maturity or the vocabulary to say it.

4.) What profession, other than the one you’re in (or working towards) would you want to attempt?

That’s another tough one because I’m working at two or three of them right now, if you look at it the right way. I’d say that if none of this music stuff ever works out (teaching, the business side, songwriting/singing), I’d like to try my hand at visual arts in some way. Perhaps in graphic or web design. I know next to nothing about them, but I think just considering how much time I spend fudging around on the internet and wishing I had the ability to more of that kind of thing for myself, it wouldn’t be hard to want to learn how to do that.

5.) What would you like to hear God say when you enter Heaven?

I would like to hear God roar like Alanis does at the end of Dogma.

But mostly I just want to hear that I definitely made mistakes, sometimes fully aware of what I was doing, but I’m there anyway because I’m loved and because my sins were forgiven.

And a great big, “Welcome home.”

Thanks for the interview! Anyone wanna play?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. blondeamblission permalink
    January 29, 2009 5:58 am

    What great answers! Pick me next!!! I wanna play!!!!

  2. kathymac permalink
    January 29, 2009 9:46 pm

    oh, you know *I* want it!

  3. Nico permalink
    January 30, 2009 6:52 am

    Ordinarily I don’t like memes, but since it is you who comes up with the questions, sure, I’ll bite. :)

    I’m also with you on the “i hate you” regret. Man, us kids are cruel.

  4. Erin permalink
    January 31, 2009 4:36 am

    I’ll bite. What would you like to know?

  5. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:30 am

    I’m in. It seems kind of fun today.

Leave a Reply

