Skip to content

Discussion-

January 30, 2009

What motivates you?

Do you ever have trouble focusing? How do you overcome that?

How do you go about doing something you’ve never done before?

How do you overcome your fears?

I want to know.
Discuss.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. curlygirl613 permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:26 am

    I don’t fight it. I allow myself to be completely A.D.D. There’s usually a reason for it, and after it passes, I find a new clarity.

  2. curlygirl613 permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:26 am

    I don’t fight it. I allow myself to be completely A.D.D. There’s usually a reason for it, and after it passes, I find a new clarity.

  3. pilgrimchick permalink
    February 1, 2009 1:27 am

    Hmmmm….the only thing I can really comment on is doing something new. Although scary, I have found that it is best just to dive into the proverbial pool rather than thinking a lot about the unknown. What I have found is that it will take one big change–one big event or move or something like that–to make you comfortable with the whole idea of doing something new. From that point forward, although the apprehension never really goes away, you’ll have something to fall back on to prove to yourself that yes, indeed you can handle it.

  4. kathymac permalink
    February 4, 2009 3:20 am

    1. I’m motivated by:
    Fear of becoming the opposite of what I consider myself to be.
    Love of what I’ve chosen to do with my life.
    Regular workouts (must be the adrenaline…?)

    2. Trouble focusing? Hell yes. Always. Usually it’s okay, because my projects are always temporary. Sometimes, it just takes, like curlygirl says, succumb until whatever’s distracting you passes.

    3. Just dive in, baby. Just dive in.

    4. Most of the time, I don’t. I just refuse to let them control me. Sure, they have a say….but not the final say.

    I don’t know if this is applicable, but – Since moving to New York, I’ve been really hard on myself for the fact that I don’t have a job related to theatre yet. Not even an unpaying one. But I’ve been sorta paralyzed by finding a place, finding a job, feeling settled, etc. And while I know logically that those are perfectly legitimate things to be distracted by, I still feel a little bit like I’ve failed, or like I’m in danger of becoming that old cliché of the artist that’s not actually doing art anymore…ever. I’ve talked to some friends who are going through the same thing….not putting ourselves out there like we know we should, and not all that sure why…but certainly a little disappointed in ourselves.

    But give it time, and don’t be too hard on yourself. Whatever has motivated you so far will continue to do so, eventually. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself.

    And I’ll try to do the same.

    Of course, if those questions are all just hypothetical, then I’m sorry I went on for so long :)

    PS: Find a library, and the book “Quarterlife Crisis” by Robins and Wilner. I’d be very interested to hear your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

