Skip to content

Interview Number Two

February 1, 2009

The beautiful, wonderfully talented, most amazing bff EVAH has interviewed me. Apparently I like answering hard questions. So here we go!

What’s the most inspiring blog post you’ve ever READ? If it isn’t one of mine, I’ll understand. :)

I don’t know about ever. I’ve been reading blogs a LONG. TIME. A long effing time. But I can tell you what my recent favorite has been.

I read a blog called ninetymilewind. It’s written Craig Bickhardt, who has been a songwriter for years and has had cuts by Martina McBride, Trisha Yearwood, Pam Tillis and Steve Wariner, just to name a few. He’s had a very respectable amount of success, yet remains very human. He knows what he’s talking about, but he’s not preachy. He’s just… he’s great.

I love his entire blog, but my favorite post he’s written so far is the one he wrote on New Year’s Eve last year. He did the same thing most of us tend to do at that time of the year– he reflected on his accomplishments, things he didn’t think he’d done well enough, things he still wanted to do… Yet he did it with complete sincerity and a bittersweet sense of humor.

I read it over and realized that though his life isn’t glamorous, even though certain things could most certainly be “better,” that’s a life I don’t think I’d mind leading either. I took a look at the realistic side of this dream and thought, “Yup. Still want that.”

It was nice realization to make.

What’s your favorite blog post that you’ve ever WRITTEN?

Again, I’ve been writing FOREVER. How hard is this?!

One bit of silliness comes to mind– my freshman year of college my brother and I dissected a DVD player, trying to make it WORK. We coaxed it, sang it songs (I serenaded it from the piano), named it, and nearly electrocuted ourselves. In the end, we just had to let it go. After its funeral (yes, we walked it out to the dumpster together to say goodbye), we both sat down in front of the blog I was then writing and told the story.

What? It was a long Christmas break.

A short excerpt, since I won’t link to that blog:

He came into the world (or out of, since this seems to be the eulogy, not his baby shower) as George PaulPeter Xavier. Unfortunately, soon after naming (and a technique called “wiggly-smack”) he left us for good. Funeral services will be held tomorrow in our back yard (near the dumpster). Viewing of George can take place in our living room anytime between now and then.

I know I’ve done some more serious writing, and I know that I’ve been quite proud of some of it. Right now, though, I’m at a loss.

But, if for no other reason than pleasant memories, I like this one too.
And this one is just terribly honest, yet totally to the point.

But maybe I think this one is my favorite I’ve written so far. It hasn’t even been commented on. Maybe it was too personal or too cryptic for people to really get. I don’t know. It doesn’t matter. I like it.

How do you mellow out?

It depends on the reason I need to mellow out.

Sometimes mellowing out involves a bowl of popcorn, the couch, and a good Jon and Kate +8 marathon. Or really, any show about a family with an insane number of children.

Sometimes mellowing out involves a few good friends and a pitcher of margaritas or really terrible beer.

Sometimes it means sitting at my computer or in front of a notebook and writing letters I’ll never send.

Sometimes I just need to play piano loud and hard.

It really just… depends.

What’s your favorite quote?

I’m not a quote freak like some people, but I’ve got a whole damn list of pretty good ones on my facebook page.

If I had to pick just one of those, I think it would be this one:

“The object of art is to stretch out to the ultimate realities through the medium of beauty.” –Ralph Vaughan Williams

All though former roomie Kay’s wonderful little gem comes in as a close second:

“I don’t want a relationship. I want a beer.”

And in the aggravated tone of voice those words were enveloped in? That was one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard.

Lastly, take a little trip through your photo albums. Share your fave here!

I’m choosing this one because it’s a photo you’ll never likely see on this blog otherwise. This is… sophomore year of high school, if memory serves, and we’re singing “Trickle, Trickle,” which was originally done by Manhattan Transfer. We kicked ass, in case you were wondering, and were asked to sing it pretty much everywhere that spring. I’m pretty sure this was also the song that earned all four of us our second appearance on the district honor concert at the music festival.

There you have it! More than you ever wanted to know!

Also, I just did an interview not too long ago, but the option remains open– if you want to be interviewed, leave a comment here. I’d be happy to ask you a few Qs!

One Comment leave one →
  1. reederscorner permalink
    February 1, 2009 10:42 pm

    Great answers to really thoughtful questions! I really liked the old picture portion of the interview – it made me smile!

Leave a Reply

