Skip to content

The Twitter Song

February 5, 2009

Without further ado…

No wait. I need to add a disclaimer here:

Disclaimer:
There are a few of you who might recognize yourselves in this song. You’re going to recognize a situation or two. And then you’ll listen to the whole thing and go, ‘Huh?’ Rest assured, this is just a fun, nerdy internet geek effort, and I tend to think I’m pretty good at taking a small story and making it even bigger and geekier. I’m not crazy. I promise.

Okay, NOW, without further ado,

“I Met You On Twitter.”

(if you’re in a reader you may have to click through to the actual page– i’m not sure if the player will work otherwise)

And if you’re a lyric freak like I know some of you are, here. Read along.

there i was, all alone
like a nerd, stuck at home
reading blogs, just sittin’ in my basement
when a whale from the sea
and a bird called to me
so i joined, i just couldn’t resist it

all the world went away
instant friends? oh, hooray!
even cute boys were kind enough to follow
but just one made me blush
oh ever so much
and for him i looked forward to tomorrow

[chorus1]
all those tweeps read it there
but we didn’t care
we weren’t shy even a little ’bout our flirting
and in an ‘at reply’
some other funny guy
accused the two of us of ‘twirting’

So we twirted away
Any hour, night or day
And we said silly things to each other
Everytime he replied
Something fluttered deep inside
And I knew there could never be another

[Chorus2]
And the day that we met
I will ne’er forget
It’s the day I knew it was forever
And someday when people ask
How we fell in love so fast
We’ll say, “well, we met on twitter.”

[Chorus3]
I await the day I see
“@courtney903,
I’m in love with you, Will you marry me?”
one hundred forty characters
or less and i will sure be yours
To you, yes sir, I’ll be married.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nico permalink
    February 5, 2009 9:53 pm

    This is more awesome than I could ever have dreamed, and will be stuck in my head for at least two weeks.

  2. blondeamblission permalink
    February 5, 2009 10:35 pm

    You are phenomenal. How cute!!!!

  3. Anne permalink
    February 6, 2009 4:27 am

    awww hahahah! now you should sing it.

  4. Anne permalink
    February 6, 2009 4:28 am

    oh nvm i just saw the music bar haha so cute

  5. ARealist permalink
    February 6, 2009 4:33 am

    That was AWESOME. Secret Revealed: Played it twice & read along the last time, ha.

  6. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    February 9, 2009 4:58 am

    I love it! So funny and cute!

Leave a Reply

