Skip to content

Yikes.

February 19, 2009

This is the one where I sound whiny and spoiled and possibly obnoxious, but dammit, just bear with me.

I’m used to getting what I want.

Not in every way– I mean, I could use a boyfriend right now, certainly, but when don’t I say that? I usually save money like crazy to get myself something pretty like, I don’t know, a nice keyboard or a new camera or a trip to Nashville (when I was living in Minnesota, mind you) and then something like a new semester rolls around and I have bills to pay and I say goodbye to all of that money just to take classes I’ve effectively already taken and subject myself to another 18 weeks of torture. Awesome.

All I can say is thank God I’m done with school.

But what I am used to is walking into three or four places, picking up applications, and then being called back by the first one I drop off. I’m used to having a job when I want one, not having a job when I don’t, having the means to live not glamorously, but comfortably enough, you know?

But this economy SUCKS and let’s just say I didn’t pick the best time ever to move out of my parents house and across the country. Seriously, though, I’m nearly 23 years old and I don’t belong with my entire life in a bedroom that small with my parents across the hallway. Sure there was always food in the house and a big flat screen TV with digital cable and free internet and hell, they even paid for my gas every once in awhile. They spoiled me. They continue to spoil me, quite honestly. But I cannot ask for more than they’ve already given me. It was time to move on.

But I didn’t plan it very well because let’s just say my life usually turns out for the best no matter what happens. What I want is not always what I think I want, but in the end, I’m happier than ever. Life happens, and I let it. Not only that, but like I said, I’m used to getting the first job I apply for. I didn’t really think it would be rocket science.

But I’m getting to the point that the McDonald’s down on the corner is looking like a viable option. I am an intelligent girl, a published journalist, an internet marketing extraordinaire. I’ve helped piece together music festivals, find sponsors, I’ve hauled stage equipment, I’ve run sound. I work hard, I have a four year degree that I often feel is pretty much useless except for the fact that I can say I have a four year degree, but even saying that can’t get me a job at effing Ross. Something is wrong with the world when people with talent can’t find a reasonable way to utilize their talent, something is really wrong when those people can’t even find a minimum wage job

You might know that I do have an interview on Monday with a really exceptionally wonderful company- some of you even know which company it is and seriously, if the rest of you knew you’d probably be happy dancing for me. I’m happy dancing for me. The people who know are happy dancing for me too (aren’t you?). It’s an amazing opportunity, one I honestly never imagined having, at least not so soon. But, in true “this is your life, Courtney” fashion, if I am offered the position and accept, it will be unpaid. I don’t care, really, because it’s a dream job and if I can work hard enough, it’s a possibility that I could be hired for a paid position, or if nothing else I can get a great recommendation- and a great recommendation from this company would be GOLD. I’m excited, I feel extremely blessed.

But that doesn’t change the fact that I need to pay my rent.

So, I’ve got a few more applications to run in today. But if these don’t work out, I’m running out of ideas.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mary evelyn permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:44 pm

    stick with it, something will come. and good luck on the big job interview!

  2. verybadcat permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:39 pm

    At least you know you aren’t alone. A lot of people are struggling with finding something, anything, much less something decent. You express yourself well, you’re intelligent. Sooner or later, you’re going to find something that fits.

    I’ll cross my fingers that it’s sooner (your big interview!), rather than later.

  3. Your Ill-fitting Overcoat permalink
    February 20, 2009 3:25 am

    I had a similar experience when I dropped out of law school. I was twenty-five, a college graduate, and had a killer resume. I applied for over 90 jobs– that’s not an exaggeration, I had a spreadsheet.

    I got ONE interview.

    It was for a part-time job selling friendship bracelets in the lobby of a theater. For eight dollars an hour.

    I did not get the job.

    That’s when I decided to leave New York.

    p.s. I did get one other interview and was actually offered the job, but THAT– no surprise– was an interview I scored through connections. It’s who you know, baby.

  4. theoddduckling permalink
    February 20, 2009 8:48 am

    Considering you live in Tennessee, that could be one of several. Any of which would be amazing.

    Good luck darlin’ and best wishes to you.

    – Kendall

Leave a Reply

