Skip to content

It Helps to Think We’re Sleeping Underneath the Same Big Sky

February 20, 2009
this photo has nothing to do with this post. i was having a pretty day. and i felt skinny. and i decided that i actually like my hair now, which is awesome since i got it cut like two months ago and have hated it ever since. apparently it just needed to be a bit longer to work. anyway, to the point…

The world seems bigger and smaller to me all the time. I can’t decide which is which.

It’s not something I really have a lot to say about, just something I’m thinking lately. How close and how far apart we really are. My familiarity with places in Montana and North Dakota and Minnesota keep them near to me, though I know actually being in any of those places right now is an impossibility because of distance.

The list of places I’ve been, places I’ve lived, places I’ve loved grows longer, and yet it’s not much of a list compared to the lists of many people I know and have known. So many people dream of backpacking in Europe, doing mission work in Mexico, riding elephants across Africa. Those are magical thoughts but for me, there so much right here in this country I’ve yet to see, so many people I’d love to meet, so many things I want to do. And I don’t even need to look at an airplane to do them.

It’s strange how forward looking I was, yet how content I felt to have Montana and North Dakota as my entire world. To have never strayed beyond I-94 except for the occasional trip to Saskatchewan when all you needed was a birth certificate to cross the border. California and Mexico were a dream, like they never even happened. I love Montana, I love North Dakota- I can’t imagine ever going back. Not to stay. Small town folks often stay small town, stay rooted in the very foundation they grew from. But I’m not the plant– I’m the seed. I’m scattered in the wind. And I’m excited to see what’s next.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thattalldude permalink
    February 21, 2009 2:38 am

    Cute picture. :)

    ~Shawn (@thattalldude)

  2. mary evelyn permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:11 pm

    very cute picture! i love those days when you just feel good about the way you look!

    i feel the same way you do about traveling. i LOVE europe, and am grateful to have visited there, but as to my next big adventure, i have a long list of things i still have not seen in this country. the redwood forests, maine, boston, the grand canyon, etc., etc. i’ll get there soon :o)

Leave a Reply

