Skip to content

Ash Wednesday

February 25, 2009

Making the decision to do something is easy. You decide to do it, then you do it.

Making the decision not to do something is harder. You decide not to do it, and you don’t. But since it’s not been done, that possibility is still hanging over your head. And you have to decide not to do it again.

And again.

And again.

This is just to say that wishy-washy though I may be when it comes to my Catholic-ness, not eating is something I’ve done on every Ash Wednesday since I started college (except for that one time that I was unaware that it was Ash Wednesday- evidence of my wishy-washy Catholic-ness, but then I just decided to pretend that Thursday was Wednesday and it all worked out) AND SO though I wasn’t exactly sure I’d continue today, the fact that I couldn’t decide whether to make French toast or pancakes or oatmeal this morning meant it was just easier not to decide and I AM NOT EATING TODAY.

Except I keep having to decide not to eat, and when I’ve got grapes and bananas and left over chicken and rice and half a container of guacamole taunting me? It’s a decision I’m making pretty much every thirty seconds.

I love food.

But I bet Jesus did too and that guy didn’t eat for like, what? 40 days and 40 nights? I can handle one silly little Wednesday.

Right?

Ugh.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becs permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:54 pm

    I’m Catholic too and I just realized it was Ash Wednesday. You know how I realized it? I read it on someone else’s blog. Someone that isn’t even Catholic. I am a horrible, horrible Catholic!

  2. lionel (acid42) permalink
    February 25, 2009 7:24 pm

    Becs, it would help to pick up a calendar from your parish to help remind you of the important dates.

    Courtney, God bless your fasting and sacrifice. Offer it up to the Lord and He will bless it. Drop by the church for some ashes to remind you of where we came from before God’s breath of life was breathed into us. And keep making music.

  3. Kyla Bea permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:53 pm

    Oh very cool!

    I’m not Catholic but all my friends were in high school and it was so neat to hear about their traditions.

    Make sure you load up on fruit juice so you have enough energy to get through the day!

  4. Nico permalink
    February 26, 2009 1:49 am

    I hate it when the son of God sets a ridiculous benchmark. 40 days? Ridiculous.

  5. molly permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:11 am

    Wow! That is quite a commitment! I’m a non-practicing Catholic except for the biggies of xmas and easter, but I did decide to give up chips for lent. Sounds like more a health choice though, huh? Good luck for the rest of the night!

  6. Emily permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:14 am

    Neat! I’m not Catholic, far from it actually (I follow an earth-centered form of spirituality), and don’t celebrate any major or minor holidays in my faith except for Yule/Christmas… or any traditions or rituals like fasting or anything like that… but I respect people who do.

  7. Your Ill-fitting Overcoat permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:45 am

    I wrote a post about that a few years ago! I notice that I tend to make active decisions over passive ones (like cutting my hair vs. growing it out, moving vs. staying, breaking up vs. staying together) and I think that’s why– passive decisions are harder because you have to keep making and remaking that commitment.

  8. Becs permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:07 pm

    I actually decided to give up complaining for lent. 40 days without complaining! It will be pretty hard but that’s the point right?

  9. rachel elizabeth permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:09 pm

    you’re a better catholic than i will ever be. :)

    i’m actually not really catholic at all except i believe i was baptized catholic or something like that.

    i decided to prove a point yesterday and not eat and i had a raging headache by the time i got home from work so i downed a big glass of iced tea and grabbed a handful of pretzels.

    jesus wouldn’t want me to pass out from low blood sugar.

Leave a Reply

