Skip to content

The Countdown Begins…

February 27, 2009

My birthday is in precisely ONE WEEK.

I’ve been excited about this for at least a month now but have not allowed myself to speak of it because who needs to hear about birthday nonsense so far in advance? No one, really.

Unless you’d like time enough to find and send me a birthday gift, but who are we kidding, you wouldn’t. And that’s fine, because if I get the same kinds of lovely comments from the internet as I did last year, it will be gift enough.

A slightly related tangent: after completely trying to ignore the internet today, it made a big comeback- won me over yet again- and now I totally want to make out with it. Internet + Courtney = True Love Forever.

ANYWAY.

It’ll be number 23 for me.
I remember being in fifth grade lining up in the hallway outside Mrs. Lovegren’s classroom and thinking to myself, “I graduate in 2004. That might never happen.”

It is now 2009 and I’m turning 23.
2004 happened. So did ’05. And ’06.

You get the point.

I never had any thoughts about who I might be beyond high school.

Well, no, you know that’s a lie. I always thought I’d be the girl with the long flowing red hair wearing glitzy ball gowns prancing around a stage holding a microphone while thousands of adoring fans roared at the pure delight of my bold vocal prowess.

Also, I was kind of hoping I’d be hot.
You guys are gonna have to tell me whether or not I’ve achieved that one. I’m narcissistic at times but still completely self-conscious and vulnerable and completely unaware of how other people actually see me. This is both good and bad, probably.
But the hot thing is supposed to be part of the superstar package, right? So I wanted that too.

But really, as far as getting to put a brand new number behind my name (a la “Ramona Quimby, Age 8,” I am always Courtney Olson, Age #) I never really have to look at it and think, “Huh. Really thought I’d be further along than this by now.”

Because I never did.

I mean yeah, there’s that whole singing dream, but I never really knew when I’d get there. And to know that I’m here working on it? That’s enough for me.

I like birthdays, though. To me, it’s even better than the new year. Why start everything over on January 1st? Yeah, it’s a new year, but you’re still in the middle of your year. It’s not like I make resolutions on my birthday or anything. But there’s something really refreshing about seeing that number tick up just one more little bit.

All of a sudden I’m capable of more. I get to leave so much behind. I’m older. I’m wiser. I’m closer to getting the things I want.

I don’t wish my life away.
I don’t worry my life away.
(heeey. ooooh.)

But 23 is going to be a good year, and I’m okay with leaving 22 behind. 22 was good. It was fantastic. But every year only gets better, right? It’s the truth. And I’m ready to see what 23 has in store for me.

On a related note, I need to know if there’s anything REALLY. AWESOME. going down in Nashville next Thursday. We’re celebrating on my ACTUAL birthday rather than on Friday because Fiddler’s got wrist surgery Friday afternoon and I am absolutely not having my birthday celebration without him. We’ve been waiting to shoot Jack together for two years. It’s time.

Also, I absolutely must include my roomie in the celebration… but she’s not quite 21. SO. Yeah. Someplace we can ALL go would be superb.

if you have any amazing ideas or know of any place we really must go, I’m very open to suggestions.

and once i figure it out, you Nashville ladies will be informed. You know. In case you wanna come crash the party. It won’t be a big one, but I’ll be there, and that’s what counts! :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. molly permalink
    February 27, 2009 5:06 am

    It’s true! Every year does get better! Although just recently I forgot how old I was for a second…I was thinking…hmmm…am I 29? Are all my friends turning 30 this year? Then I had to sit back and think oh no. I’m 28. Just writing this makes me second guess. weeeeeeird, but oh so good :)

  2. Barb permalink
    February 27, 2009 2:18 pm

    thanks for posting this reminder of the upcoming birthday, I might have forgotten ;-)otherwise. Oh, and at my age, I prefer not to put the age# behind my name…

  3. Barb permalink
    February 27, 2009 2:18 pm

    thanks for posting this reminder of the upcoming birthday, I might have forgotten ;-)otherwise. Oh, and at my age, I prefer not to put the age# behind my name…

  4. mary evelyn permalink
    February 27, 2009 3:14 pm

    ooooh, happy birthday in one week, how exciting! and i totally know what you mean about the not picturing yourself after high school thing. i was the exact same way. i mean, i knew i was going to college, because that’s what everyone did. so i guess i never really thought about what my life would be after college. and now three years have all of sudden passed. weird. time is weird.

  5. Emily permalink
    February 27, 2009 3:22 pm

    Happy early birthday Courtney!

  6. Erin permalink
    February 28, 2009 4:49 am

    23 has been really good for me so far (all three weeks of it). I hope it’s as good for you as it is for me. It sounds like you’re where I am, sure of yourself and ready to grow. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

