Skip to content

Cover me

March 2, 2009

You’ll forgive the raving madness of a Northerner transplanted to the South just a bit longer, won’t you? I mean, I’ll always be a Northerner, and I will be in the South for more than a bit longer, I can assure you, but this snow is not going to last much more than a bit longer. And I can’t get over it.

A blue sky and a bright sun reflecting off of still pristine white snow is one of the best ways to wake up.

Light equals happiness.

Add to that gazing over into the neighbor’s yard and seeing snowman wave at you? Incredible. Snowmen don’t happen up there in the frigid North as often as you might imagine because with the snow comes the bitter cold and the snow isn’t sticky enough to roll into balls and it just remains one big blanket adorned with a snow angel here or there. But here? One day later there’s a snowman. I love it.

The snow was just the catalyst I needed to get my butt into gear. It’s been gloomy in my head- no opportunity for change when change has been what I’ve needed most. But this. This simple white blanket of snow… it has me going. Making lists. Getting things done.

This week will be a good one. This month will be a good one. The pressure is truly on, you guys, to an extent I’m not sure I even fully comprehend.

But that’s what I need. The pressure. The stress. I need something pressing in my life again.

And I certainly needed the snow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. verybadcat permalink
    March 2, 2009 4:46 pm

    I’m also a reformed Yankee. The thing about Southern winters- yes, they are mild, yes, we get breaks from the cold that our Northernly neighbors do not. But? There is something so incredibly and inherently depressing about everything just being dead and dormant and brown. It kills me. I love the snow because it’s fresh and white and new, at a time of the year when nothing else is. :)

    The high on Friday and Saturday is 65 degrees, and I CANNOT WAIT.

  2. Emily permalink
    March 2, 2009 4:58 pm

    Light does indeed equal happiness!

  3. Nico permalink
    March 2, 2009 6:32 pm

    I keep forgetting that it snows in other parts of the country during this time!

    Pics please.

  4. thattalldude permalink
    March 4, 2009 1:23 am

    Come visit us in ND, we got a fresh 12-18 inches not even a week ago! It’s melting fast though.

Leave a Reply

