Skip to content

Housekeeping

March 3, 2009

Oh, man.

I knew my life would work out.

And March, you silly little friend, you. Why can’t you stick around all year? One month is too short a time to spend with you, darling.

So, a life update, if you will: I have a job. (wait for it. do you hear those choirs of angels?) I won’t give you too many details, but it really is a pretty sweet deal and one of the very lovely perks is that I don’t have to get dressed or even shower if I don’t want to, because I’m doing all of my work from home on this very computer. Also, I have a feeling this is going to give me a wonderful excuse to finally invest in a laptop. Maybe even a macbook… eh. Well that’s still a dream. But I can dream, right?

That job is just part time, however, so I’ve still been kicking the job search in the rear end. I can’t not pay my bills. Not an option. But today, another good omen: I was just called in for an interview! Tomorrow! This is a big ol’ HOORAY. It’s retail, it’s employee discounts, it’s clothing I love, and I’m telling you, I’m really good at the interview thing in these situations. This job can definitely be mine.

This is all I need. I need to pay my bills and have a little extra money to work with so I can finally start enjoying Nashville. I’m so excited.

A note on yesterday’s post— after I’d posted it I remembered a quote from Saint Joan that I’ve always loved. It’s beautiful. I need to read more of this guy.

A miracle, my friend, is an event which creates faith. That is the purpose and nature of miracles. They may seem very wonderful to the people who witness them, and very simple to those who perform them. That does not matter: if they confirm or create faith they are true miracles.
—George Bernard Shaw

I thank God for true miracles.

AND the ever lovely Molly at Blah Blah Blah has tagged me for a photo post! Here are the rules:

1. Go to your picture files or where ever you store your pictures on your computer.
2. Go to the sixth folder and select the sixth picture.
3. Post it on your blog and tell the story behind the picture.

4. Tag a couple other wonderful bloggers and leave a comment on their blog telling about it.

Now, I can’t lie to you. This isn’t the sixth picture from the sixth folder. That picture? I’d probably be killed for showing it to anyone these days. Let’s not even think about what might happen if I posted it on my blog for the entire world to see. So, we’re going to go with the fifth picture in the sixth folder, because it’s just hilarious.

This is my car heading west on I-94. We’re in the Medora, ND area here, and I know that because those are some pretty badlands touching that awesome blue sky. That person? In the back seat? Hanging out my window like a mad person? That’s our Crazy Little German. This is freshman year of college, very early 2005, and I decided bringing this one and another of our friends back to Montana for the weekend would be, I don’t know, fun or something. But she was not accustomed to three and a half hour drives (the ability to hop on a train and be in a new country in less than an hour is something I may never understand), and she was bored stiff, and so she decided to make things a little more entertaining for all of us by hanging her head out the window pretending to be Hoss, the dog that belonged to our friend’s boyfriend.

We made multiple copies of this photo. It’s everywhere. And I think the boyfriend (an ex now) still has it framed somewhere. Probably next to a photo of the real Hoss. So priceless.

I feel like I’ve been tagging and giving and linking a lot lately, so no specific tags, but if you want to do this, feel free and leave me a comment so I can come check it out!

Much love! Happy Tuesday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. rachel elizabeth permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:35 pm

    oh i’m going to do the picture thing when i get home. :) i’m so happy things are starting to come together for you, really. you deserve it. xoxo

  2. Emily permalink
    March 4, 2009 2:02 am

    I am so glad you have a job now! And best of luck on the interview. :)

  3. molly permalink
    March 4, 2009 5:33 am

    Yay! Jobs! Money! Fun Stuff! I hoping to get there soon as well ;) Good luck with the interview and congrats with the j-o-b.

  4. verybadcat permalink
    March 4, 2009 3:05 pm

    Damn! You’ve got it all worked out. :) Part time internet job, interview for a full time job, WITH a clothing discount? Can life be sweeter?!

    Glad that things are going well for you. :)

  5. verybadcat permalink
    March 4, 2009 3:05 pm

    Damn! You’ve got it all worked out. :) Part time internet job, interview for a full time job, WITH a clothing discount? Can life be sweeter?!

    Glad that things are going well for you. :)

Leave a Reply

