Skip to content

On the Horizon

March 4, 2009

I think I want another tattoo.

I’ve discussed my current tattoo somewhat recently, and I mentioned then that I never thought I’d be The Girl who had A Tattoo. I don’t know if being A Girl with A Tattoo implies anything or if I thought it implied anything, it’s just not anything I ever thought I wanted. In fact, one thing is definitely sure. I’m not and never will be The Girl with A Huge Tattoo. I’ll never have an entire flower garden running down my left arm. I’ve seen tattoos like that and I think they’re beautiful– but it’s not me. You saw the photo of the one I have, right? It’s more of an adornment than anything. And the best thing about it is that it’s on my foot, and lover of flip flops and high heels though I am, it’s still fairly easy to cover up with a shoe if it’s entirely necessary. When it’s not necessary, I love showing that thing off. It’s a part of me. I’m still in love with it.

So after I got that one (I just realized, it was three years ago to the day), I immediately started thinking about whether or not I’d ever get another. I came to the conclusion that I wouldn’t rule it out (obviously, since I’d surprised myself once already) but that I just couldn’t imagine another at that point. The one I got was a bit of an epiphany, and the place I put it was just the only place I could imagine wanting a tattoo.

But now I’m finding myself longing for a new bit of ink. Another small little reminder of who I am, made permanent. Another memory. I have no idea what I want, but I do have a few ideas where I’d put it, which is really where I started last time anyway.

Also, there’s the whole money thing. I can’t afford a tattoo right now.

But that’s okay. That just leaves more time for the epiphany to strike.

So, a new tattoo is on my horizon. And this excites me.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    March 4, 2009 4:10 pm

    after i got mine when i turned 18, i wanted another one for a while. but now the urge has faded and i’m pretty sure i won’t get anymore. probably because i’m scared of the pain now!

  2. theoddduckling permalink
    March 4, 2009 4:17 pm

    I had wanted one for years so about two weeks ago now, I decided to go to a local parlour and look around and see what spoke to me. I found it in the tribal sun now inked on my shoulder blade.

    All ready I’m on the lookout for another.

    – Kendall

  3. verybadcat permalink
    March 4, 2009 4:32 pm

    I want another one too, but WH is not super supportive. He wants a second one too, though, so after he gets his, he won’t be able to criticize…..

  4. mary evelyn permalink
    March 4, 2009 7:30 pm

    oooooooooh, i love your tattoo! i’ve been thinking about getting one, and i’m definitely ready, and excited. i’m just waiting for my cousin, because we want to go together. but the more time that passes, the more i think it may just have to be an impulsive thing i do on my own. kind of like when i get my nose pierced.

    we’ll see.

  5. molly permalink
    March 4, 2009 8:34 pm

    I’ve never gotten a tattoo. I just tend to date those that have them :)

  6. rachel elizabeth permalink
    March 4, 2009 10:48 pm

    obviously, i am an authority on getting spontaneously tattooed. you have SEEN the video, right? yeah…

    i sort of think, you should get “’til the river runs dry…” somewhere on you. :) it’s the title of your blog, so obviously, it means something special. other than that, i’m at a loss for ideas. i just got the music notes six days ago, and i’m still smitten with them. LOVE.

    and you could always wait until the real estate market turns, i drive down to TN and we can go together! so. much. FUN! hahaha!

  7. Erin permalink
    March 5, 2009 1:43 am

    I’m planning on getting another myself: a small owl for my grandmother, who is probably the person I am closest to in the world. I was thinking of putting it on my ribs somewhere (placed so that dresses wouldn’t show it), but was worried about bathing suits. The foot doesn’t seem like a bad idea, though. Hmmm.

  8. kathymac permalink
    March 5, 2009 1:49 am

    Okay, so, like so many other things, we are exactly alike in this!! I was the same way until I got my first one, in the same place, and now I want another. Except, I know what I want….I just don’t know where to put it. What are your possible locations?

    Maybe you should email them….I probably won’t think to check back over here.

  9. Emily permalink
    March 5, 2009 2:50 am

    I like your current tattoo a lot. :) I have two tattoos: a butterfly on my shoulder, representing recovery from anorexia (a butterfly is a recognized symbol of recovery in general), and a much larger decorated crescent moon on my lower back. The moon was very, very painful– towards the end, it felt like the tattoo artist was ripping the skin off my back! Ouch. Neither were impulsive tattoos.

    @theoddduckling: I, too, have been wanting a tribal sun on my shoulderblade for awhile! Simple, in black, and I have the design all picked out already.

Leave a Reply

