Skip to content

23

March 5, 2009

Are you my friend on facebook? Why not?

If you are, you might have seen these already.
If not, I’ll give you a happy little treat called Courtney Until Age 5.

“In honor of your birthday,” my mother says. That is why she uploaded these to facebook and tagged me in all of them. Part of me is thinking, “ugh. This is what I get for letting my mother have a facebook profile.” (as if she’d obey me if I ordered her to deactivate, or something.) The other part of me is thinking, “Yay! Pictures! I love memories!”

So I just decided to embrace it and share the love.
Happy Birthday to Me.

First on the tour of memories is a picture I’ve seen many, many times. It used to sit, framed, on top of the upright grand piano in our living room, which means I saw it every day. I loved this photo. I’ve always loved this photo. My brother used to be so flippin’ cute. I’m guessing I’m four or nearly four in this photo.

Next on the tour of memories is a little something I like to call The Cutest Haircut Ever. Seriously. I make one adorable little witch. The clown thing my brother has going on is a little weird though, right?

Third is a moment which, by the looks of it, should have had me screaming for dear life. My cousin has a rather malicious look on her face, doesn’t she? Kind of like, “I love her so much I must squeeze every drop of Love out of her To Keep. But please don’t make me share My Oreos with her later. I don’t love her that much. Thanks.” We’re five weeks apart. And she’s getting married in exactly 6 months. While I’m very happy for her, I think this is just weird.

This photo just kills me. Kills me. I mean, yes, look at Baby Courtney. Awwwwh. So cute! But more than that, look at my mother! Granted, it’s more a photo of me than her but you can still tell exactly how young she is. And do you want to know how young she is in this photo? She’s 27. Well, almost, at least. Her birthday is less than two weeks after mine and I still look pretty new in this picture, right? But seriously. Twenty-seven. If there had been such a thing as blogging when this picture was taken, she’d have been eligible to be a 20sb-er. SERIOUSLY. This just blows my mind.

Anyway, last but not least, this is one photo that should tell you just how little I’ve changed over the years.
The sunglasses, the red hair, and you can’t see it in this picture except for the shoulder strap, but the purse that’s nearly as big as I am…

Yup. It’s been a good 23 years.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    March 5, 2009 6:06 pm

    i love the first picture! so cute. you look very similar to how you look now, which is what happened to me too. i look exactly the same now as i did when i was 4, just a little older!

  2. mary evelyn permalink
    March 5, 2009 8:12 pm

    awwww, great pics! thanks for sharing. i love looking at pics of me as a kid.

    have a great birthday, live it up!

  3. molly permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:09 pm

    You look mischieviously cute in that one with your cousin! And yeah, if I followed my mom’s path I’d be married for four years with a kid now. Definitely weird to think about. Happy Birthday! Hope it’s great!

  4. kathymac permalink
    March 6, 2009 12:41 am

    happybirthdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    *gasp*
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

    and, um, Beth is doing WHAT!?!?!

    that is wild.

  5. Classy in Philadelphia permalink
    March 6, 2009 2:37 pm

    This is absolutely ADORABLE. Happy birthdayyyyyy! <3

  6. nicoleantoinette permalink
    March 6, 2009 9:48 pm

    On the one hand I’m thinking “those are super adorable pictures.”

    On the other hand I’m thinking “Holy hell, thank GOD my mother doesn’t know anything about Facebook.”

  7. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    March 8, 2009 7:17 pm

    I’m sorry I missed it and my birthday wishes are late! To make up for it I’m standing in my living room doing “the carlton dance” and singing to you! Happy Happy Birthday!!!!
    I hope it was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

