Skip to content

This Side of the Bed

March 10, 2009

How does the expression go? Is it “woke up on the wrong side of the bed,” or “got up on the wrong side of the bed?” Because I definitely woke up on the wrong side of the bed, but I think I managed to get up on the right. Ha.

Seriously, though, when I woke up, I was pissed that I was awake, trying to go back to sleep pissed me off, the thought of getting up pissed me off.

I was pissy.

So I laid in bed awhile staring at the sunlight making its way through my closed up blinds, and that pissed me off.

And then I thought about all the things that had me feeling pissy when I went to sleep, knowing I shouldn’t have gone to bed pissy, but seriously, it was already 1 am, and what else was I supposed to do? Stay up all night? I think not, Mister.

Finally I decided some eggs and some orange juice might make the day a little better, so I got up.

And I made eggs and a little bacon and poured myself a glass of orange juice, and I opened a brand new package of Starbucks coffee, and things started to look up from there.

I got a message from Eagle Scout, who’s still hangin’ tough in Texas, and it was nice to hear from him.

My brother sent me a message on facebook: “POTENTIAL ENERGY!” I asked him a ridiculous physics question last night and because he gets me even when no one else in their right mind ever could, he knew exactly what I was talking about. Potential energy.

And then I realized that maybe that’s what was going on last night.

Potential energy.

My little marble of life had rolled to a stop and it just needed some force or another to come push it along.

And now that the day is rolling and I’ve got something new ahead of me, I’d say this side of the bed is looking pretty good.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hazel permalink
    March 10, 2009 6:47 pm

    glad your day is looking up!

  2. verybadcat permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:10 pm

    I can nearly always guarantee that a really good mood (of mine) will be followed by a let down. It is like clockwork. Generally, I just need something to distract me from noticing the difference between how happy I just was and now normal, blah or blue I’ve become.

    Glad you’re feeling better. :)

  3. theoddduckling permalink
    March 10, 2009 9:02 pm

    I think those two words alone deserve to go on my quote board.

  4. Molly permalink
    March 11, 2009 2:34 am

    As long as your rolling and thinking and being, it’s good. It amazes me how profound feelings continue to be and honestly I sometimes really enjoy that down feeling, of course as long as it doesn’t stick around. For me, it’s all about balance. Hope your teeter-totter stays on the high side for the most part though :)

Leave a Reply

