Skip to content

Black and White and Read All Over

March 12, 2009

I need to get excited about reading again. I always feel better when I can make curling up with a book for a few minutes a day a habit, and I haven’t been doing so lately. Currently I’m in the middle of Chronicles by Bob Dylan, which is actually a very cool book, but something I really need to be in the mood to dig into.

So I asked Twitter for recommendations (because I ask Twitter for everything) and so far I’ve gotten a few.

For the sake of letting you know what I’ve been reading over the past year or so, you can check these posts out.

The few books I have left that haven’t been read are Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich, and some random chick lit thing my mom passed on to me that I really don’t care if it gets read or not. Oh, and I’m still in the middle of Peter Pan. That is a book best read when you’re feeling particularly giddy and young.

I need a bigger selection.

Here are the recommendations so far:

  • Water for Elephants– Sara Gruen
  • Prodigal Summer– Barbara Kingslover
  • Beach Music– Pat Conroy
  • Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil– John Berendt
  • Prince of Tides– Pat Conroy
  • The Road– Cormac McCarthy

Also, Molly has agreed to make me a list of her Top 10, so the list is going to get long quickly. But I like it. I need a long list.

So what would you recommend? What is your favorite book? Who is your favorite author?

Also, I’m itching to get into some poetry but have never been a poetry kind of girl (which is a travesty, when you think I like to consider myself a lyricist) so I really have no idea where to start. If you know poetry, give me somewhere to start.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. verybadcat permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:54 pm

    Also, Snow Falling on Cedars. That was a good one. :)

  2. Tabitha permalink
    March 12, 2009 8:00 pm

    The Road is a pretty good one. You have to kind of prepare yourself for a tough read, emotionally and grammatically…but it was worth it for me.

    As for other book recommendations…I’d say Hard Times (Dickens), Lovely Bones (if you haven’t already read it), and since you like Peter Pan, Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry. SO good.

  3. vanover521 permalink
    March 12, 2009 9:21 pm

    I’m not terribly into poetry, but I’ve found that I enjoy Walt Whitman. You know, start small and if you find that you don’t really like it, then I guess you don’t like it. Don’t get down on yourself. :)

  4. Shelley permalink
    March 12, 2009 11:18 pm

    Nickel and Dimed is worth the read. I had to read it for a class and liked it.

    I need to get into reading more, too.

  5. Megan permalink
    March 12, 2009 11:43 pm

    Poetry- my favorite poet is probably ee cummings. His poetry isn’t of the rhyming sort, and it’s completely… different.

    Books- The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger; The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath; and my favorite, Echo by Francesca Lia Block.

  6. Emily permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:04 am

    Moby-Dick by Herman Melville; a second vote for Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen; Ishmael by Daniel Quinn

  7. bigskygirl permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:11 am

    i recommend nickel and dimed as well — i read it after wendy and angie were in the play and it was awesome.TWI.LIGHT. I’m serious. Not everything you read has to be all heavy and smart. ;)Also, as far as poetry, I recommend the likes of Shel Silverstein. Srsly. And Baxter Black. He’s Shel Silverstein for grownups. ANNNND, the poem Cody reads right before Lane dies at the end of 8 Seconds? Baxter Black. :) He’s a GREAT cowboy poet. And super funny.Also, Six Hundred Hours of a Life and Past-Due Pastorals both by Craig Lancaster.oh, and for some heavy reading that you might enjoy from a cop/dare officer’s daughter’s perspective — The Night of the Gun by David Carr. A.MAZE.ING.and any Meg Cabot you can get your hands on. She writes a LOT more than the princess diaries.also, i love song lyrics and hate poetry. altho, really, song lyrics are poetry. i just don’t like weird poetry. the end.<#me.

  8. kathymac permalink
    March 13, 2009 11:32 am

    I’m proud of the Nickel and Dimed suggestions! One of my favorite non-fiction books.

    And here’s another: I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – by Maya Angelou.

    I’ve been really into re-reading old favorites, which is why i’ll suggest the following, most of which are pretty easy and fast reads: Bridge to Terabithia, Sybil, Flowers for Algernon, and (and this one really should be at the top of the list) Summer of My German Soldier. That last one especially is one that I can read in about 2 days – and I’m a slow reader – but never fails to completely alter my perspective on life.

    And if you want some contemporary: check out Dean Koontz. Another guy who got a bad rap for being Stephen King-y, even though his books are far more character-driven than scary-plot driven.

    My next endeavor is going to be Anna Karenina, which I’ve tried to read like four times, and had to give up on because I couldn’t keep the characters – about three of which have reeeeally similar nicknames in Russian culture – but I’m told the translation Oprah used for her book club is really good.

  9. mary evelyn permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:24 pm

    ooooooh, i love books! there is nothing better than hunkering down with a good book for hours and losing yourself in that imaginary world. (sigh)

    so, i found this blog on molly’s site, you may already have looked, if not, i think it’s a gold mine for book suggestions: http://for-the-love-of-books.blogspot.com/

    also, i just read wuthering heights and LOVED it. i didn’t think i was going to like it so much, with the language being hard to read and everything, but that wasn’t the case. it was incredibly old school romantic, which is my kind of book.

    good luck with book choices!

  10. Eric Shonkwiler permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:27 am

    Cormac McCarthy is excellent. I’d recommend All the Pretty Horses over The Road, though. More rewarding for someone who isn’t a parent.

    I’m big on Bukowski, as far as poetry goes. He’s not lyrical, though. As far as sheer beauty of language, I don’t think you can beat the Romantics. Byron, Keats.

Leave a Reply

