Skip to content

Working for a Living

March 16, 2009

I actually loved my last retail job. Not enough to, you know, stay in Minnesota to keep it or ever consider making a career of it, but as far as part time college kid jobs go, that was one of the good ones. I worked with awesome people, where I was recognized for working hard, in an environment that let me take on responsibility and still leave work at work at the end of the day. It tired me out. I dealt with crabby customers. I worked overnight on Thanksgiving and until close on Christmas Eve. It wasn’t all a bed of roses, but as a rule, I genuinely liked being there.

I can already tell, seven and a half hours in, the job I’ve just taken isn’t going to be so charmed.

The staff is big. The store is bigger. The product is a hodge podge of Couldn’t-Make-Up-My-Mind /SLASH/ I-Don’t-Know-Who-I-Am /SLASH/ Uncontrollable-Disaster. It’s overwhelming and overstimulating, to say the least. The people are, indeed, lovely, but I don’t remember the last time so many names I’d be expected to remember were thrown at me in one day, much less one hour.

I turned down two more interviews since I took this job, because they were the same kinds of jobs and trying to juggle two at once wouldn’t have worked out, availability-wise. One of those interviews was for a job I really wanted, too (books!), but I declined because I couldn’t bring myself to flake out on a job I’d just accepted. It didn’t seem fair. That’s not me. I commit and I stick. But oh man, I’m afraid I’m going to regret this decision.

After accepting this job, I’m up to two part-times, you may know. One is a work from home, when you can, for as long as it takes you to get your work done kind of job, which I am IN LOVE WITH. The work is rewarding, allows me to take on responsibility and see my actions pay off, and will be really flexible with all the roadtripping I am hoping to do and am very much looking forward to over the next few months (especially if I can manage to save up and buy a laptop, which let’s just admit now, is a pipe dream).

And, after accepting this job, I decided (and am hoping) that the two combined would pay the rent (and, yeah, the other bills too), and ceased looking elsewhere. I still want a full time grown up job, but the job search has me worn out at the present moment and I just figured I’d give it a rest for a few weeks and then start doing some follow up and continue searching from there.

But this job is already wearing me out. And let’s not forget the real reason I brought myself down here–

MUSIC.

Where is it?

Well, I’m doing a lot of sitting around strumming a ukulele writing love notes in the form of lyrics, but I’ve gotta finally get up into Nashville and start figuring out how to make these things make me money.

I’ve got a lot on my plate.
I’ve gotta start working on all of it.

Man, this is gonna wear me out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. rachel elizabeth permalink
    March 16, 2009 2:38 am

    aw, hang in there court! if your facebook is any indication, yes… the store you are working in is a hot mess. :) but it’s work and in todays economy, that’s something to be thankful for. youre a lot like me though, i wouldn’t have flaked on that job either for the other because well… i’m nice and i’m a chicken.

    also, an email is coming your way about a potential computer solution. xoxox

  2. vanover521 permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:26 am

    moving up in the world, slowly but surely. Things will work out, I promise you. Loves ya!

  3. mary evelyn permalink
    March 16, 2009 1:13 pm

    you can do it!

  4. verybadcat permalink
    March 16, 2009 1:41 pm

    You can do this! It will wear you out in that super satisfying way.

    We will make sure you get a good giggle and whisper refill on Saturday. ;)

  5. Ashley permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:26 pm

    It’s such a pain that it seems there’s never enough time for doing the things you really want to do. I feel that way about writing fiction even though I like my regular job. I hope things work out with the job even though it’s not ideal.

Leave a Reply

