Skip to content

Not in Kansas Anymore

March 17, 2009

For the last two months, I have been the girl who silently rolls her eyes in disgust anytime someone complains about having to go to work, no matter where it is they might be employed. Work? Oh, dear, I’m so sorry that you know that your bills will be paid at the end of the month and exactly where the money is coming from! Must be so terrible for you!

And then I turned right around after seven hours on a job I’d hardly given a chance and complained about it.

Yeah. Sorry about that.

I was overwhelmed, and I’m not used to doing anything for three hours at a time anymore, much less seven, so brainless though my activity that night was, it had me exhausted. I’m not making excuses, I’m just saying.

Day two was much better, in case you were wondering. Even after being told it wasn’t likely we would be trained on cash registers, at least not right away, I was set up with a register and the training manual and was told to go for it. This delighted me to no end- if I’ve gotta work retail, cash registers are where I want to be.

I was reading through all the small bits and details while my manager stood at the other end of the desk going through orientation with another new hire, and I came across something that intrigued me.

“Really?” I asked. “We accept Canadian checks?

“We do?” She replied. I pointed to the sentence in the manual that suggested so. “I guess,” she continued. “It’s not like we’re gonna run across that… ever.”

And I was momentarily surprised. “Really?! Because the last store I worked at–” and then I stopped myself and thought for a moment. She looked at me expectantly.

“–was in Minnesota. Never mind.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. verybadcat permalink
    March 17, 2009 5:19 pm

    You never know……..

    :)

  2. Shelley permalink
    March 18, 2009 1:53 am

    Where did you used to live in Minnesota? I have a feeling I already know the answer to this question but my memory fails me.

  3. Molly permalink
    March 18, 2009 3:56 am

    first days can definitely be overwhelming, so i’m glad that you’re feeling better about the job :)

  4. mary evelyn permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:05 pm

    gotta love the retail jobs. cash register is definitely the place to be. those kinds of jobs, though, are ALWAYS the most tiring. why is this?

    good luck!

  5. vanover521 permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:34 pm

    hehe.

    oh retail, how I dislike thee.

    and THANK YOU for your comment. it calmed me down a bit and made me FAR less nervous about this.

    Although. I’m still nervous about telling me parents. and I shouldn’t be. but I am. the dumb things that get me all riled up… haha.

  6. Nico permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:07 am

    I want to order Canadian checks and travel to this store to buy an arbitrary item just to see what happens.

    Wait — can I order things online? ;)

Leave a Reply

