Skip to content

Jason Gets Me

March 21, 2009

This isn’t so much an “OEmGee, I want to marry Jason Mraz someday!” post as it is… I don’t know what it is.

I keep finding new meaning in this album.  Every time.  I always seem to pick up on something I never quite understood before, and what I previously understood becomes even clearer.

Make it Mine

Listen to the voice
The one that tells you to taste past the tip of your tongue
Leap and net will appear

I’m Yours

And nothing’s gonna stop me but divine intervention
I reckon it’s again my turn to win some or learn some.

I won’t hesitate no more no more
It cannot wait.
I’m yours.

Lucky

Do you hear me talking to you?
Across the water across the deep blue
Ocean under the open sky
Oh my baby I’m trying

Butterfly

Butterfly you float on by
Kiss me with your eyelashes tonight
Or Eskimo your nose real close to mine
And let’s mood the lights and let’s finally make it right

Live High

Lift me up to Thee, Almighty!
Raise your hands and Start acknowledging He.
If you’re living it righteously
Then you’re taking the easy way
Just Just Take Take, takin’ it easy.

Love for a Child

What about taking this empty cup and filling it up
With little bit more of some innocence

Details in the Fabric

Calm down, deep breathes
And get yourself dressed
Instead of running around
And pulling on your threads and
Breaking yourself up
If it’s a broken part replace it
If it’s a broken arm then brace it
If it’s a broken heart then face it

Hold your own, know your name, and go your own way
And everything will be fine

Coyotes

Me and my mouth we don’t mean to be rushing
We talk about thee freely cause we crushing

I wish the wild was alive like you
I wish the wind would blow me through
Another opportunity to approach you
Another telepathic rendezvous
I wish you well with your weapon of jargon
You gotta double sided lexicon
I gotta try to keep your attention
Gotta write using less emoticons
Gotta figure out the snooze alarm
I wanna lay in your place til dawn
I wanna play in the park come on
I’ll let me see the other upper echelon.

Only Human

Yes we are only human
If it’s our only excuse how do we think we’ll keep on
Being only human
Yes we are – only human
So far

Dynamo of Volition

Will you answer a call if you do not know who is calling?
I guess the whole point of it all is that we never know really

If It Kills Me

Hello. Tell me you know. You figured me out.
Something gave it away.
It would be such a beautiful moment to see the look on your face.
To know that I know that you know now
Baby that’s a case of my wishful thinking
You know nothing
You and I why we go carrying on for hours on end
We get along much better than you and your boyfriend

All I really want to do is Love you
A kind much closer than friends use
But I still can’t say it after all we’ve been thru
All I really want from you is to feel me
As the feeling inside it keeps building
And I will find a way to you if it kills me
If it Kills Me…

How long can I go on like this wishing to kiss you?
Before I rightly explode
This double life I lead isn’t healthy for me
In fact it makes me nervous
If I get caught – I could be risking it all
Cause maybe there’s a lot that I’ll miss in case I’m wrong

All I really want to do is Love you
A kind much closer than friends use
But I still can’t say it after all we’ve been thru
All I really want from you is to feel me
As the feeling inside it keeps building
And I will find a way to you if it kills me
If it Kills Me…

If I should be so bold
I’d ask you to hold my heart in your hand
I’d tell you from the start how I longed to be your man
But I never said a word
I guess I’ve gone and missed my chance again

Chorus

..it might kill me.

and finally-
i feel like this most days, and want somebody to see me, just the way i am, and love me for it anyway.

Beautiful Mess

You got the best of both worlds; you’re the kind of girl
Who can take down a man and lift him back up again
You are strong but you’re needy. Humble but you’re greedy
Based on your body language and shoddy cursive I’ve been reading
Your style is quite selective but your mind is rather reckless
Well I guess it just suggests that this is just what happiness is

Hey what a beautiful mess this is
It’s like picking up trash in dresses
It kind of hurts when the kind of words you write
Kind of turn themselves into knives
Don’t mind my nerve you can call it fiction
I like being submerged in your contradictions, dear
Cause here we are, here we are

Although you’re biased I love your advice
Your comebacks they’re quick and probably have to do with your insecurities
There’s no shame in being crazy depending how you take these words
I’m paraphrasing this relationship we’re staging

Its a beautiful mess yes it is
It’s like we’re picking up trash in dresses
It kind of hurts when the kind of words you say
Kind of turn themselves into blades
Kind and courteous is a life I’ve heard
But it’s nice to say that we played in the dirt
Cause here we are, here we are

Here we are, here we are, we’re still here…

what a beautiful mess this is
It’s like taking a guess when the only answer is yes
Through timeless words and priceless pictures
We fly like birds not of this earth
Tides they turn and hearts disfigure
But that’s no concern when we’re wounded together
And we tore our dresses and stained our shirts
But it’s nice today, the wait was so worth it

Dear Jason,

You get me.

Love,
Courtney

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2009 12:15 am

    There are some majorly killer lines in those songs!

  2. March 22, 2009 10:04 am

    i think that’s the beauty of jasons music… because i can read those lines and think to myself, damn. jason mraz really gets me. it’s so relatable, so universal. and he’s just so freaking adorable.

  3. March 22, 2009 12:18 pm

    Did you know….

    Jason actually wrote beautiful mess for me. He totally had me in mind. Yep. Truth.

  4. Just Playin' permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:39 pm

    He’s something else right?

    “If it’s a broken part replace it
    If it’s a broken arm then brace it
    If it’s a broken heart then face it”

    This has gotten me through the past few months. Love him.

Leave a Reply

