Skip to content

Application, Part 2

April 2, 2009

Yesterday, I posted an Application to Fall Madly In Love With Me.  Yeah, it sounds a little presumptuous, but Nico asked me to.  Nico helps me out a lot, so it’s really hard to say no to the guy, you know? If you have not filled it out yet and would like to, please, feel free to click through and start typing away.  I think you’ll have fun. Do it before you read this post, though. Don’t want you ripping off any answers ;)

I’ve gotten some great responses so far: more than I expected, some from people I didn’t even know until the application had been “turned in.”  It has been pure joy reading through these.  I have not chosen the person for the job, and I haven’t decided if I’ll actually do so.  Honorary Blog Boyfriend? Maybe you should tell me if you’d like me to or not.

Anyway, I thought I’d share some of my favorite answers with you.  I chose some of these answers simply because they made me smile, others I chose because they actually do reflect feelings/opinions/states of mind that, if you’re not careful, could send me careening into a massive black hole of love with hopeless abandon. Yeah.  Commentary has been added here and there.  I had the overwhelming urge to click the “Courtney Likes This” button after many of these.  In case you were unaware of the immenseness of my geekdom.  Enjoy.

Basic Information:
Accent: British (i didn’t ask this question, but i like!)

Which side of the bed: The middle (I’m tall, I like to kind of ‘splay out’, spread-eagle in the middle of the bed), but there’s enough space for a small’ish girl to fit either side of me, or between my legs. (as Nico pointed out in the comments of that post, this guy should win simply because he used the phrase ‘splay out.’  Incredible.)
-Sebastian

Occupation: Sheriff’s Clerk, unpublished novelist.  (a man who understands law enforcement AND has a dream. sigh.)

Celebrity Most Often Mistaken For: That dude from the new Star Wars movies. The young Darth Vader. (i didn’t ask this question either, but i heart hayden christensen)
Eric

Religious Affiliation, if any: Christian – Roman Catholic (thumbs up! courtney likes this!)
Kendall

The Boys:
Are you a creative soul? What do you create? Elaborate as much as possible.

Shit.  Yes.  I create many things ranging from music on the piano, guitar, trumpet, to creating playlists on iTunes, making remixes of songs, etc. to drawing and painting mostly watercolors at the local Starbucks.  In my line of work I’m also creative in that I’ve designed implants, vessels, etc.  (oh so musical. also, people just up and paint watercolors at Starbucks? I need to spend more time at Starbucks.)
Justin

Briefly describe your best friend.
He has been in almost every band I’ve been on a complementary instrument, is an extremely funny single-panel comic artist, is studying to get his degree in some kind of hydro-engineering, loves video games, has known me the longest of anyone in my age group, and we have the same parents. (he just described his brother, and in the process came dangerously close to describing mine. and you know what? i have a fierce love for my brother too.)

Top 5 Goals in Life:
5. Change the world (the other goals were respectable, but this? He can do it and I’m excited to see it.)

What is the most romantic thing you’ve ever done for a significant other?
A girl once told me she had never been to prom, so I took her to an empty parking lot in the middle of the night, popped the trunk, played a waltz, and asked her to dance with me.  (are you “awwwwwwh”-ing out loud? because I totally did.)
-Nico

If you could choose any city in the world to live in for a year, which city and why?
Sydney. A place where I can escape to the beach, sea, countryside and be at one with nature when I feel like it.  (I can see myself in Sydney because of the Opera House and the beach and because, well, it’s not spelled the same way but its name is Sydney. And I love that Australian accent.)
-Foo

Briefly describe your best friend.
Amazing, compassionate, beautiful inside and out, musical, lyrical, intelligent, articulate,  (i think she was talking about me…)

Which side of the bed?
Whichever side you’re not on.

n502385865_1397056_9775What is the most romantic thing you’ve ever done for a significant other?
Drove across the state to see a live performance only to miss the performance because I got lost and then followed said significant other to a geeky museum exhibit.  (the picture is my commentary. enjoy.)

Why did your last relationship end? What did you learn from that experience?
It was not meant to be. I learned that even though a relationship is not all about me, it is important that I am happy in it. I learned that sacrificing yourself for someone you love isn’t really sacrifice at all. It’s a pleasure. I learned that the little things about the relationship are what make it or break it. It’s holding hands walking in the mall, opening a door, catching them checking me out. Them knowing that you snort when you laugh too hard, prefer dark meat over light, and want three packets of sugar and just a little cream because it’s just perfect then. I’ve learned that I’m worth fighting for, worth waiting for, worth every second of the time they spend with me. I am beautiful, I am intelligent, I am precious. I have learned more than I ever thought I would from my past relationship.  (this is just incredibly beautiful and I hope I can learn so much from/about somebody someday.)
Cari (she asked if she could fill it out, even though she’s a girl. I told her to go for it.)

Us:
Two favorite boys’ names: Anything that doesn’t sound like Aiden. (ha ha ha!)
Two favorite girls’ names: Anything that doesn’t get abbreviated to Missy. (oh my goodness yes.)
Will you be understanding of my inexperience?
Absolutely. Everyone’s inexperienced at something at some point. (oh. true.)
Justin

Are you fond of using pet names or terms of endearment? What would you call me?
I would never call you ‘babe’ because I believe everyone needs something specific and clever, and then those names move forward via inside jokes.  For instance, I’d start first by calling you Minnesota.  Then just ‘sota.  Then you wouldn’t like that, and I’d say “kinda sounds like ‘soda’,” and then we’d talk about which parts of the country say soda and pop, and I’d insist you say ‘pop’, in which case I’d try to combine ‘pop’ and Courtney, thus making you ‘popcourn’.  Then just popsicle.  Then Courtsicle. (I love the creativity, the evolution, and I especially love the thought of being called ‘Popsicle.’ Cutest answer ever.)

We’re going out.  Open mic night at a tiny coffee shop, hanging out at Barnes and Noble buying each other books, live music from a semi-well-known band at a midsized venue, huge concert, neighborhood bar, or d-d. d-d-d-dancing at a night club?
Depends.  I like all of those so we can roll a di or something. (Courtney likes this.)

We’ve got a rare weekend that includes no plans or responsibilities.  What are we going to do about that?
Stockpile our MP3s, fill up the tank, pick a direction, and go. (that playlist is gonna kill.)

Do you want kids someday?  How many?
2 or 3 sounds good

Two favorite boys’ names:
Felix and Simon (not weird, but not typical. PERFECT.)
Two favorite girls’ names:
Penelope and Lillian (or penny and lily) (beautiful, and Penny reminds me of, of coures, Big Bang Theory. Remember, I’m a geek?)

Are you comfortable spending large quantities of time with someone who has no qualms about singing and dancing in public?
Are you ready for the awkward stares when it becomes a duet? (oh, hell yes.)

Are you comfortable having my feeeeeelings for you written about and sung to the world?
Are you? (again, hell yes.)

When we get married, can we tweet, “I do?”
THAT SOUNDS HILARIOUS.  I’m in. (Courtney likes this!)

Will you be understanding of my inexperience?
Sure.  Xbox 360 doesn’t come naturally to a lot of people, because most people are used to PlayStation.  It just takes practice.  Wait, are we talking about video games? (I was purposely vague when I asked this question because it refers to many different things and I wanted to see where you guys would go with it. This made me giggle.)

Why do you want to fall madly in love with me?
Because falling madly in love sounds nice.  And because you have an application. (thanks to you!)
-Nico

Two favorite boys’ names:
Bram and Michael. (I LOVE Bram. I still think we should have named my brother Michael. Not really, but my little 3 year old self does.)

When we get married, can we tweet, “I do?”
If you want your next tweet to be “My groom just left me at the altar.” (this simultaneously made me laugh and made me sad.)

Will you learn to paper mache’ with me?
Only if I don’t have to be good at it.  And can make a volcano. (and then we’ll make it blow up.)

Will you hold my hand at the grocery store?
Wherever you want. (THE RIGHT ANSWER.)
-Eric

In the morning, how much time are you going to give me to get pretty before you go crazy?
As long as you need. I’ll find ways to occupy myself – provided we aren’t late :P  (this is a theme- as long as we aren’t late. boys like to be punctual? or just every boy who filled out this application? weird.)

Will you be understanding of my inexperience?
We are all learning. As long as you are learning too. (I like to learn.)

Why do you want to fall madly in love with me?
To the above question as well. For a few years now, I’ve been really jaded and unable to fall head over heels in love with anyone. I still believe in love. I crave it. And I believe deep down, my soulmate is somewhere amongst the 6 billion people on this planet, equally searching and yearning. You may be the one. I wouldn’t know. I couldn’t take the risk of not trying. (so sweet.)
-Foo

Where would you take me on a first date?
Ideally: To a small coffee shop show of Jason Mraz where we would get to hang out with him afterwords drinking great coffee and discussing whatever happened to come up in conversation. (oh, she is after my heart)

Why are you filling out this application?
Because I’m already in love with you.

Why do you want to fall madly in love with me?
Too late.
-Cari (cari and i both like men, but if i were a man or she was a man- obviously not both- i would marry her this instant.  really.)

Sleepover! “You’re so much prettier without makeup,” or “Argh! Turn off the lights!?”
First time I saw you without makeup, I didn’t say a word — just kissed you. I think that got my point across. (this is filled out with his girlfriend in mind, ps, not me, but i LOVED this answer.)

Will you cook dinner with me?
If we eat together, we always cook together. Unless one of us decides to take care of the other, then we will banish the other from the kitchen.
-Kendall

And finally,

Foo mentioned that it seemed as though I had someone already in mind when I wrote these questions.  Here’s what I said:

Did I have someone in mind when I wrote this application?  Yes and no.  Yesterday I tweeted that I was ready to fall madly in love and one of my boy blogger friends jokingly replied “is there an online application?”  I created this for him, because he asked.  I didn’t expect more than one or two people to bite, really.  Other than that, I tried to keep it open ended to get a feel for what guys are thinking and looking for in general.  I’ve gotten some really different responses and have found myself thinking, “nope, definitely couldn’t date you,” and “hmm. if I were serious about this, that could be a possibility.”  It’s been fun.

Like I said, if you haven’t done this and would like to help me out, give me some perspective on the manly side of the human race, please click on over and answer the questions.  Be funny, be serious, be mysterious.  Be whatever you like.  Just be.

And thanks to those of you who participated.  I’m flattered you’d take your time to do something like this for me.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kendall permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:51 am

    I had fun filling it out. And Nico’s answer for the romantic thing ever done? “D’aww.”

    “Sure. Xbox 360 doesn’t come naturally to a lot of people, because most people are used to PlayStation. It just takes practice. Wait, are we talking about video games?” This had me cracking up.

    And lastly, I’m amused to see 3 of my answers made the cut.

  2. April 2, 2009 9:00 am

    I beat Seb at one of his own questions! Ha!

    This was fun. I did the paper mache volcano thing when I was little, but I don’t think we got it to blow up. The vinegar/baking soda thing just kinda bubbled. Very disappointing. Maybe we’d try vinegar/baking soda/M-80?

  3. April 2, 2009 9:18 am

    I had so much fun filling this thing out. I learned a TON about myself. And realized that yes, if only one of us were male, we would be perfect for each other.

    And yes, the Jason Mraz answer was totally to win your heart. I didn’t even see the follow-up question at first. Which made my answer even MORE perfect.

    Someday, Courtney. Someday a guy will fill this out as well as I did, and then it will be bliss! Or what was it I said? Deliriously happy. :)

  4. Sebastian permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:29 pm

    You’ll rue the day you crossed me, Eric… RUE THE DAY.

    Not picking an actual boyfriend is an incredibly cop-out, Courtney. I am disappointed.

    That’s the last time I flirt outrageously on the Internet in the vain hope that I can finally get a girlfriend. I’ve been rejected too many times.

  5. April 2, 2009 5:23 pm

    Let’s see how many blogs we can cross in our battle. Who else do we have in common? Better yet, let’s find a completely random blog and fight there.

  6. Sebastian permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:26 pm

    They’ll write tales about us, when we’re older.

    Or when one of us dies; whichever comes sooner.

    *narrows his eyes*

  7. April 2, 2009 9:32 pm

    Seven minutes in. *narrows eyes*

    Hi Courtney!

  8. courtney903 permalink*
    April 2, 2009 9:41 pm

    now, now, boys. i’d hate to think i started a fight here… ;)

  9. Sebastian permalink
    April 3, 2009 6:05 am

    God, Eric, you can be so mean.

    *storms off, tears streaming*

Leave a Reply

