Skip to content

If I had love I’d still need money.

April 9, 2009

I feel I need to clarify before I start this post– I’m not complaining.  I’m very happy, even considering my circumstances (or, if you look at it another way, especially considering my circumstances).  I’m just pointing out some faulty logic is all.

Country music tries to be uplifting and lovely, but seriously, it has the potential to be life-threateningly depressing.

I bought the new Martina McBride album a week or so ago and if you’re a Martina fan, you’ll love it because it’s classic Martina, but I’m not here to talk about that or do any kind of formal or informal review.  No.  I’m here to talk about one specific song.

It’s called “Don’t Cost a Dime.”

Here’s just a sampling of the lyrics:

It’s a big world to walk through honey
And if you got love, you don’t need money
You’re gonna get caught in the toughest times
You hold each other and you hold the line
You kiss on the mornings when the sun won’t shine
And that don’t cost a dime

Climb out of bed and step outside
Look up ahead its all blue sky
You already have what really matters most in this life

Awh.  Sweet, right?  And at first I thought to myself, how appropriate for these times in which we live.*  Except guess what?  Some of us don’t have money OR love.  And finding love costs way more than a dime, honey, because you gotta get yourself outta the house and up to the city and you gotta look pretty and you gotta pay the cover to get into the show where all the cute boys are hanging out and maybe even singing on stage later on.

That only happens in Nashville?  Whatever.

I’m just saying, some of us aren’t in college anymore and meeting people becomes an entirely different game and it’s a game that isn’t always free.  That’s all.

Although Matt did hug me like eight bajillion times.  But he’s marriedface.

And no, the above diatribe was not a sneaky way of telling you I’d met anybody.

But it’s not just Martina, y’all.

I turned on the radio this morning while I was getting ready for work and what did I hear?

Two young people without a thing
Say some vows and spread their wings
Settle down with just what they need
Livin on love

Living on love, buying on time
Without somebody nothing ain’t worth a dime
Just like an old-fashioned story book rhyme
Living on love
Sounds simple, that’s what you’re thinking
Love can walk through fire without blinking
It doesn’t take much when you get enough
Living on love

Without somebody nothing ain’t worth a dime?  So even if I had the money, what would it be worth?

If I hadn’t found my happiness elsewhere, if I didn’t have so much else going for me, I might listen to these songs and think, oh man. I’ve got nothing left to live for.

Good thing I know better.  But really.

Can you think of any other sappy “fall in love and who cares what else happens” songs? Do you love ’em or hate ’em?

*That’s a song title from Martina’s last album. Because apparently I have Martina on my mind.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 10:04 pm

    Not that this has anything to do with Martina, but it made me think about how I believe you need MORE than love for marriage, and I think too many people think you will just in la la land once you get married. Yep. My two cents. Ha!

  2. April 9, 2009 10:51 pm

    I’m in the same boat as you. No love, no money. But that’s ok. Who needs either of those anyway? Lame. ha.

  3. April 10, 2009 12:03 am

    If I’d listened to these songs a couple years ago, I wouldn’t have thought anything of them, but I’ve since become a lot happier being single and A LOT more bitter about money. You don’t need to be with someone to be happy, and there is nothing romantic about being poor. It just plain sucks. In other words, I agree with you completely. Ha ha. Thanks for giving me a place to vent.

  4. Kendall permalink
    April 10, 2009 6:45 am

    Considering I didn’t really start listening to country music regularly until after breaking up with the Ex, at the single lowest point in my life any song I heard talking about love was enough to make the hurt start all over again.

  5. April 10, 2009 8:27 am

    i get mixed emotions when i hear those “nothing matters but love” songs. i feel sad because i don’t have that in my life, but hopeful that it could happen.

    who am i kidding, mostly i feel sad, and then i switch the station. :o)

  6. verybadcat permalink
    April 10, 2009 9:39 am

    ~snort~

    As a “marriedface”, let me just say- there isn’t anything really romantic about cuddling on the couch and wondering how much longer the couch will be in a house and not under an overpass. Does love make poverty any easier? Yes, it’s good to have someone to share your beans and cornbread with, and it makes things a little easier to bear. On the other hand, you have the horrible offset of watching your lover suffer, of competing with them for the limited resources available, and the shared shame putting a ton of stress on the relationship.

    It’s six of one, half a dozen of another.

    There’s poor, as in- “let’s just get a frozen pizza, a bottle of wine, and rent a movie”- and that *is* romantic.

    Then there’s poor as in- “do we eat or make the mortgage”- and all the kisses in the world do not make that any easier.

Leave a Reply

