Skip to content

a silly letter

April 15, 2009

Dear Blue and White Stripey Pants,

Since the day I bought you my senior year of high school roughly five years ago (or, more accurately, my mom bought you for me), I have loved you.  You came along with me on college visits and auditions, and kept me looking pretty for church and senior events like the mother-daughter tea. You were one of the first conscious fashion choices I made.  I went in saying, “I want white pants!” and I came out with blue and white stripy pants which were more white than blue and I was tickled pink.  Hooray!

I treasured you, pants, and wore you anytime I felt it was even kind of appropriate to do so.

Usually when a pair of pants start to fit a bit too tightly, I’ll keep them around for a few months, maybe even a year, just in case the weight goes away and I can once again slip into them.  It’s not something that happens often anymore but every now and then I must concede and toss a beautiful pair of pants in with the bag of stuff I’ve been meaning to take down to the salvation army for the past three weeks.

But not you, Blue and White Stripey Pants.  Not you.

You came to college with me but it didn’t take the cafeteria and lack of forced physical activity long to plump me up and leave you forgotten at the back of the bottom drawer.  You sat there for months, came home with me for the summer, and got put away on the top shelf of my closet.  After that, I didn’t see you often at all.  When I did, I would glance at you longingly, and turn away as quickly as I could make myself, knowing it was just torture to wish to wear you.

Still, through everything, I never had the heart to take you to the Salvation Army.  You were my Blue and White Stripey Pants, and I was determined to wear you again one day.

Blue and White Stripey Pants, today was that day.

In a desperate search for something the wear to work that was not jeans but not a skirt because ARGH. Too long since I’ve shaved my legs for that! I saw you sitting atop the shelf in my closet and I thought, “Hmm.  I have been running lately.  It would not be so crazy to try.”

So I pulled you down and I poked my toe through the left pantleg, and you slid up my leg as if it were hardly even there.

Oh glorious day! The angels sang!  Hallelujah!  Courtney and the Blue and White Stripey Pants are together once again!

Oh, Blue and White Stripey Pants, I have missed you, and I promise you, there is only one reason you and I could ever be parted again and that one reason is a long, long way off.  We have much time to spend together.  What do you say?

Your Faithful Friend,
Courtney

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 11:04 pm

    Horray!!! I LOVE it when that happens.

  2. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    April 16, 2009 12:42 am

    Oh that is a freaking glorious day! Yahoo!

  3. April 16, 2009 9:46 am

    oh man, i LOVE that feeling! go you!

  4. April 16, 2009 10:15 am

    So cute!

    I was shopping yesterday and TRYING to find some white pants/capris/ANYTHING that goes on my lower half. I suck at finding white bottoms, I think because I hate the ones that are too see-through. Anyway, maybe someday I’ll find some blue and white stripey pants of my own. :-P

Leave a Reply

