Skip to content

Fireflies

April 16, 2009

I played ukulele all day.  This was one of the many results.

First, the talkin’.

Second, the singin’.

And the lyrics, if you’re interested:

Before you met me i was a fairy princess
I caught frogs and called them prince
And made myself a queen
Before you knew me i traveled ’round the world
I slept in castles and fell in love
Because i was taught to dream
I found mayonnaise bottles and poked holes on top
To capture tinkerbell
They were just fireflies to the untrained eye
But i could always tell

[chorus]
I believe in fairytales and dreamers dreams like bed sheet sails
And i believe in peter pan and miracles
And anything i can to get by
And fireflies

Before i grew up i saw you on a cloud
I could bless myself in your name and pat you on your wings
Before i grew up i heard you whisper so loud
“life is hard, and so is love, child, believe in all these things”
I found mayonnaise bottles and poked holes on top
To capture tinkerbell
And they were just fireflies to the untrained eye
But i could always tell

[chorus]

Before you met me i was a fairy princess
I caught frogs and called them prince
And made myself a queen
Before you knew me i traveled ’round the world
And i slept in castles and fell in love
Because i was taught to dream

As always, this song will also be posted on the music page for easy access.  Let me know what you think! Please and thanks! :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    April 16, 2009 11:17 pm

    You are my favorite. I’m not kidding in any way! I admire you talent. You’re a rawkstar!

  2. April 17, 2009 6:18 pm

    COURTNEY!!! WHAT HAPPENED TO YOUR ACCENT!?!?!

    Or total lack thereof. you sound so….. southern now. oh my. oh my.

    though I love you and the uke. as always, beautiful. I can’t wait until I can have a whole bunch of Courtney Olson on my iTunes. So I can just set it to her songs and listen. You make my heart sing, my dear. You really do.

    And I was thinking… I need to come up with a new alias for you. Only because I like coming up with aliases for people. it’s kinda fun. haha.

    LOVE YOU!!!!

  3. April 18, 2009 11:49 pm

    courtney! i love it. i gotta get my act in gear with listening to your music!

  4. April 23, 2009 3:23 pm

    I loved that song! I don’t think I’d ever heard it before, but you sang it beautifully. :-) Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

