Skip to content

The Future

May 6, 2009

I was at work yesterday, not having a great day but not a terrible one either.  It was just another one of those days in retail where you look pretty and people are friendly, but it’s still retail so there’s only so much teeter-tottering the world can do before it balances out at, “This is okay.”  I was examining myself in the mirror between buttons and zippers and bows, noticing the real difference maybe not in the way I look but in the way I see myself since I moved here in January, considering my life and my current circumstances and the potential for things to come, for myself.

And then they walked in.

A mother, probably in her mid-to-late 40s, a girl who couldn’t have been older than 18, and a baby in a carrier, slung over the young girl’s arm.

I took a few of our frillier, more colorful dresses from the girl and hung them up for her as her mother sat down on the floor in front of the dressing room with the baby in front of her– a little boy with wide, sparkling blue eyes.  He was tiny, still pretty new, but full of life and brilliance.

And I watched his grandmother tickle him, make faces, play “This Little Piggy,” anything to keep him smiling, and then I heard it.

The baby giggle.

The most heart warming sound in the entire world.
Nothing can be wrong when a baby is laughing like that.

This particular situation did lend itself to a bit of curiosity, sure.  Teenage motherhood is not an uncommon happening anywhere in this country, but I think many of us are quick to judge the people in those situations.  In fact, sometimes, I am guilty of appointing myself to judge and jury and then coming to fast, hard, and likely unfair conclusions.

But today I looked at this little ball of baby pudge rolled up in blue, and I thought, “That kid is going to grow up and change the world.”

It doesn’t matter if he ends up in New York City, in China, or on the moon.  It doesn’t matter if he wants to be an engineer, a teacher, a musician, a firefighter.

None of it matters.
Those two women were filling him up with so much love that when he finally gets the chance, he’ll have nothing to do but give it all away.

And if love like that can’t change the world, then nothing can.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 9:13 am

    This was incredible. Certainly, two decades and some change ago, two people were filling a baby wrapped up in pink with love. And now all she does, all she can do, is give it all away. The best part is, whether she uses her ukulele or the interwebz, she does it with grace and style.

    <3

  2. May 6, 2009 9:24 am

    The world needs more people like you. Spread that aspect, dear.

  3. May 6, 2009 9:26 pm

    what a wonderful way to look at it. love it lady.

  4. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    May 10, 2009 9:38 pm

    “If love like that can’t change the world, then nothing can.” What an amazing line!

    This post right here, explains why I’m a teacher.

Leave a Reply

