Skip to content

This Ain’t 1999

May 7, 2009

dscn5031

Thanks to someone or other and his crazy blog full of memories and happiness, and to another someone or other i usually like to call Mom, I spent last night right there on my floor doing just what you see.

What? You can’t tell what I’m doing?

Reliving the 7th grade, that’s what.

d was the inspiration, mom made it possible by digging around through my life in the crawl space and driving the shoebox down with other things like a bed and a guitar and a brand new printer. a brand new printer! with a scanner! and it’s not even my birthday!

i mean, i asked for a printer, but i asked for the old one that was sitting around collecting dust, not a new, shiny, 7th grade handwriting scanning printer.

huzzah.

and you must, must know: there is more on all of this to come, and it’s gonna be rockin’. you should be excited.

but for now, since this blog is largely about my music, since my music is very much MY LIFE, i would like to share with you some lyrics, by me, complete with “OMG”-style note-writing, circa 1999-ish.

lyrics990001

scan0001

Really, Courtney; Grade 7 (aka korii sue!)?  You wrote that “within 3 min?”

Can’t tell at all.

Other gems found in the box include mentions of a boy, in code (we always wrote in code, and his code was the last four digits of his phone number because we were very clever), who, yes, I might be grabbing drinks with in Nashville this weekend, because he lives there, and I haven’t seen him since sophomore year of high school or something crazy like that (life once again circles round); suggestive stick figure drawings of me and an 8th grade boy; and drawings of the album covers for our girl band, the Angels.

I’m a little disappointed though because there were certainly notes I was hoping to find when I dug through this box, and I didn’t find them.  Since I know there’s no way I threw them away, it means they’re hiding in places here and there in all of my packed memories, and I’ll have to wait until the next time I’m home to find them.  Those were the good ones, too.

By the way, I didn’t bother copyright protecting those lyrics.  If you wanna steal them, go right ahead.  Anyone who can make a decent song out of that deserves to have them.

Clearly I’ve come a long way.
In many ways.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2009 12:46 am

    a. maz. ing.

    i’m still laughing. oh 7th grade.

  2. May 7, 2009 6:51 am

    My best friend in 7th grade and I used code names as well. It was so fun!

  3. May 7, 2009 9:19 pm

    “it’s bad. very bad. very very bad” gotta love it!

  4. May 8, 2009 11:22 am

    i LOVE digging through old notes and pictures from highschool and earlier. it’s amazing looking back on who you were and how much everything has changed.

  5. May 8, 2009 11:42 am

    On the plus side, your handwriting is extremely legible.

    I also accept your challenge to turn this into a song I can have, and my secret weapon is the vocoder.

  6. May 10, 2009 8:20 pm

    I love it! If I ever found a note of mine from middle school, I might pass out. Or freak out. Or both. I think it’d be hilarious to see what I was dwelling on at that time.

  7. May 11, 2009 12:51 pm

    Yep, that definitely has 7th grade written all over it! I really wish I had kept more notes from back then…what a hoot!

Leave a Reply

