Skip to content

Just Sing It. Sing the Song.

May 8, 2009

There we were, walking out of the mall through the little courtyard with the little fountain, and I was getting a little excited about possibly upgrading my phone.  I had a bit of a bounce in my walk, a step or two in front of my parents, when I saw him stand up and step out into our path.

Wait.

Are you who I think you are?

Well, you’re certainly not as skinny, a bit taller yes, but I haven’t seen you in five years.

Yeah.  That kid?  I went to high school with him.

His younger brother and his father followed suit after hearing me exclaim, “OH MY GOD.” My parents were momentarily oblivious, but soon enough caught on.  We met in the middle and as the wind whipped around us, it caught the laughter of a bunch of Montanans reveling in the circumstance that would bring them together in Middle Tennessee.

“We were just joking about how we hadn’t run into anybody from Sidney yet!” his dad said gleefully.

Because on the Northern Plains, you don’t leave town and end up in a mall without running into somebody else who had the same idea you did that weekend.

Soon his mother, my former junior high band director, came walking up and we all watched as she had the exact same reaction I did: “OH MY GOD.”

We chatted for awhile, and he and I exchanged phone numbers because HE LIVES HERE.  He goes to school with Roomie and Fiddler and Fiddler’s Roomie. And no one was ever around to make that connection…

Until we ran into each other at the mall.

It must be a Northern Plains thing.

Or maybe Walt Disney was right.
It’s a small world after all.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 11:41 pm

    haha. awesome.

    it IS a small world.

  2. May 9, 2009 2:47 am

    It is a small world…

    BUT I’m sooo awkward when I see people I haven’t talked to for a while. I just never know what to say. Haha.

  3. May 9, 2009 12:25 pm

    Definitely a small world! I still run into people from Florida sometimes. I think a lot of people just move to TN. :)

  4. May 9, 2009 10:04 pm

    i love when paths cross like that, esp if it’s someone you enjoy seeing, but even if not, it’s still interesting :)

  5. May 10, 2009 8:18 pm

    The more I travel and the more people I meet, the more I know the world is such a small place. It’s incredible how you can run into someone from the past so randomly!

Leave a Reply

