Skip to content

Crazier

May 27, 2009

Now and then I send a letter, rather than posting it password protected on my blog or scrawling it onto old notebook paper or singing it and posting it on myspace.  Now and then, I write words meant specifically for someone and then I send them to that someone so that he or she can– yes!– read them.

Novel idea, isn’t it?

I love writing letters.  I get to say everything I want to say and make sure it is said with all the beauty I can muster.

Response time isn’t always so quick, though, especially when I’m communicating with another letter-writer who is probably taking sweet time getting all the words in the right order as well.

Sometimes, before a response makes its way back to me, I start second guessing the reason I wrote the letter in the first place.  And I say to myself,

“Court.
Ney.

You’re crazy.”

Oh, yes, I’m crazy alright, but this is no news to anybody, especially myself.

But sometimes crazy pays off and somebody sets your mind at ease, sheds light on your corner of the world, and then comes back around and makes you smile for good measure.

Sometimes people see something in you that you have a hard time seeing in yourself.  Maybe it never even occurred to you to look for it.

Yeah.  Sometimes crazy pays off.
My crazy pays off.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 10:59 pm

    agreed. there is something to be said about a handwritten, heart felt letter. so much of our lives are computer based. i always get so giddy when i get mail that isn’t a bill. :)

  2. cari permalink
    May 27, 2009 11:43 pm

    definitely. i’m going to try my hand at writing more letters this summer. even though i may not always necessarily have money for stamps, i don’t care. it shows a little more thought and care when it’s handwritten.

    and your voice was a sweet song in my ear today, too as well. i miss you and can’t wait to see you again. love love love!

  3. May 28, 2009 12:48 am

    I definitely want to get back into writing letters. I don’t think I’ve written a letter to someone since I had a penpal YEARS ago.

  4. May 28, 2009 10:25 am

    I miss the days where being a penpal was really in style … there’s something still so beautiful about getting letters. My sister always sends us cards and such through the mail, reminding me of the excitement of actually getting something for you through snail-mail. Thanks for reminding me to revive my letter-writing skills!

  5. verybadcat permalink
    May 28, 2009 1:16 pm

    WHAT. DID. YOU. DO?!

    I think this requires a Facebook session.

    <3

Leave a Reply

