Skip to content

Ten in Ten

May 30, 2009

Project time.

When I was in middle school, I saw a group called Four Shadow.  My best friend and I fell in love with the baritone, Kevin Steinman, which turned out to be rather serendipitous as, to make a long story which I’ve already told very short, he ended up recording The Minnesota Sessions something like eight or nine years later.

Kevin’s given me much miscellaneous guidance without ever realizing it.

Four Shadow had actually been in town to perform twice, and I don’t remember which time, probably the second, but they came to the schools to do workshops with the choirs.  Kevin said something really simple during that workshop that has stuck with me ever since:

“This life isn’t glamorous.  It’s hard work.  It’ll take forever to get where you want to go.  You’re going to have to live on peanut butter.”

We all gasped in horror.

“Hey, if it’s really what you want to do, it’ll be worth it.”

And in the back of my head, I was thinking, “I don’t want to live on peanut butter,” and also, “Me? Live on peanut butter? No, I’ll get it all figured out before it comes to that.”

Friends, I’m telling you now.  I am living on peanut butter.
And most of the time, it’s worth it.  It really is.  I would not change the decisions I’ve made.  I would never live another life for a day, even if I could.  I am happy being me, dreaming my dreams, singing my songs.

And there’s more you can do with peanut butter than you’d think.

BUT.

You knew there’d be a but, right?

I need some quick cash. I don’t even need much.  Just a little.  There’s this little thing coming up in less than a month (oh my goodness) that we’re calling the Ultimate Meet-Up in Chicago and I am *thisclose* to being able to go.  I’ve been saying for months that I’d be there.  I expected my circumstances to be slightly different than they are now.  Living optimistically, as usual.

Too optimistically, probably.  But that’s me.

And I’m okay with living on peanut butter but I’m not okay with a life without road trips.

So I’ve got a plan.

A little more than a year ago I decided to start a project which I likened to Lori McKenna’s Kitchen Tapes.  It never got done because I was living in a dorm and people liked to bang on my walls when they so much as heard the click of the keyboard turning on.  Stupid.

Now, I’m starting it back up.
Still untitled.

My goal is to get ten songs recorded in ten days (starting today- one is already done!), and put it up on the music page.  As always, you will be able to download this music for FREE because, well, that’s how I’m rolling right now.

However.

I was never actually planning on announcing this but here goes.  You might have noticed that there is a new button on the main music page.  Clicking on it takes you to a paypal site where you can “donate” any amount of money you choose.

So maybe on June 8th you’ll want to download my brand new homemade music and throw a few cents my way?

Help me get to Chicago?

Really.  I need to road trip terribly.

June 8th. Ten Songs.

Ten more days.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    May 31, 2009 11:35 am

    This is an impressive conquest girly! I’m down for a few dollars in you behalf. It does sadden me because I can’t go myself but I have a baby puppy now. Responsibilities are big!

  2. Molly! permalink
    May 31, 2009 1:39 pm

    i just wanted you to know that i’m incredibly proud of you! it’s been so long since we’ve done music together, and i wish i would have really kept at it. it’s amazing that you’re still doing what you love, even if you’re just living on peanut butter!
    i donated a bit to your cause, and i hope i helped out!
    keep doing what you’re doing!
    if you ever need anything, really do get a hold of me.

    love,
    molly h

    always remember the “rhythm of life is a powerful beat….”
    :)

Trackbacks

  1. zero360/music » Blog Archive » Different Game
  2. The Heart in a Jar « CourtneyOlson.com

Leave a Reply

