Skip to content

Counting

June 1, 2009

An update on Ten in Ten:

THIS IS FUN.

I only wish I had better recording equipment because the ideas, they are exploding, and they won’t sound nearly as crystal clear as I’d like them to.  Oh well.  Music is music whether or not it’s a little fuzzy.

I’ve decided to take three tracks I recorded about a year ago and add them on to this project.  I originally released them with the album version of The Minnesota Sessions but eventually decided that even though the songs and ideas were good, the lo-fi mixed with the pretty pro-tools cuts of the main four songs just wasn’t doing it for me.  So, I’m still recording ten songs in ten days, but what YOU will get will be a THIRTEEN song album.  I know.  Lucky you.

It all seems a little self-serving though, I have to admit.  I mean, why shouldn’t I ask for a little bit of money for the hard work I do?  I added up all of the money I’ve spent over the last few years to make this happen, and if I added what my parents have spent to help me out, well… oh man.  It’s fair right?  But I feel like I shouldn’t get paid to do something I love so much.

I feel guilty.
Not guilty enough not to keep going, but still…

Still, it has all given me an idea.  I’m having so much fun, and I’m already getting some great feedback so…

Depending on the overall success of the project, I’ll probably do it again.

Why not?  I’ve got so many songs that no one has ever heard and I’ve got at least a year’s worth that still need to be registered before I can even think about using them…

So I’ll do it, but the difference is, next time I’m going to do it for charity.

What charity?  Haven’t exactly decided.  I’ve gotta finish this project before I go diving into another one.  But it’s something I’m excited about, and if y’all can prove to me that this works, it’s something that will definitely happen.

I’m counting on you.
I’m counting the songs.
I’m counting the days.

In the next day or two I’ll post a song as a bit of a teaser… haven’t decided which one yet.  Be excited!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 10:08 pm

    This is fantastic. Can’t wait to hear all your songs and ideas and feelings and your voice. Glad you’re having fun with it too! :)

  2. cari permalink
    June 2, 2009 10:20 pm

    you could donate it to my charity. :)

  3. tabithablogs permalink
    June 3, 2009 3:00 pm

    I’m listening to Better Not Settle right now, and it. is. WONDERFUL. I seriously think you’re going to become famous someday. And when you do, I’ll be like, “Oh my gosh I totally read that girl’s blog before she was famous!” :-P

Leave a Reply

