Skip to content

Enough.

June 7, 2009

This morning I picked up my ukulele and played all the songs I wrote with it right after I’d first gotten it.  Those songs are all about the same thing.

The thing I haven’t written a song about since… probably April.

Okay, looking at my notebook now I’d say that’s not true.  But the last one I really liked I wrote in April.  Then again, that particular song was maybe the best song I’ve ever written, so topping it might not happen– at least not for awhile.

Still this is all to say that I haven’t written in what feels like a very long time and I really feel like I haven’t gotten to let much of this situation out through music lately at all.  Playing those songs this morning was like rediscovering the part of me that wasn’t afraid to feel it.

But it was different then.

Time changes everything.
Knowledge changes everything.
Circumstances change everything.

And I want to write.  I want to sit down at my keyboard or with my guitar or ukulele and my notebook and I want to write like crazy…  but this has turned into something so complex that I don’t know how to sort it out and put it into words.  Not in a blog post, not in a letter, not in a song.

Maybe words aren’t enough, even when combined with melodies and harmonies.

But what will be?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 6:24 am

    I, too, am a lyricist. And though I have no advice for writing the tune of music, I often find that, when I cannot write and am seemingly uninspired despite my desire to write, it is best to dip into freewriting. I time myself – usually three minutes – and just write anything. You just can’t stop writing, even if you have to write one word over and over again until the stream continues. You’ll find that good, usable substance can come out of freewrites.

    I love your blog. Best of luck!

  2. June 8, 2009 7:30 am

    I’ve written some lyrics….but how I got them is beyond me. When I’m not looking for it just happens, and when I’m trying, my brain freezes.

Leave a Reply

