Skip to content

Geography

June 14, 2009

We were having a Geography of These United States lesson in the fitting room this afternoon.

“Wait. You’re from Minnesota? I don’t even know where that is.”
“Really?!”
“I think I flew over it once on the way to Arizona.”

“…”

“On the way to Colorado?”

“…”

“On the way to Canada?”

Sigh. “Yes.”

She stuck her finger on an imaginary map in front of her.  “So Tennessee is right here.  Where’s Minnesota?”

I drew a line up with my own finger on the invisible map: “Here’s Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.”

“Wait- what?!”

“Okay, forget it. Here’s Tennessee, here’s Minnesota.”

“Ooooooh.”

“…”

“You still don’t know, do you?”
“Nope.”

“So you’re really from Minnesota?”

So I launched into the long, eventful explanation of my trek across the Northern border of the country when she once again stopped me and said, “Now wait. Where’s Montana?!”

So we put our fingers on the invisible map in front of us and we found Tennessee and Minnesota once again, and then I drew another line: “…and here’s North Dakota, and here’s Montana.”

Our fingers were up in the air and we were staring at… well… space, basically, when two women popped their heads out of their dressing rooms.

“Did you just say you were from Montana?”

“Yes ma’am.”

“We’re from Billings!”

I think the story can end there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2009 10:20 pm

    I’m disturbed by this.

  2. June 14, 2009 10:29 pm

    I second that. Disturbed. But then again, I’m only now pinpointing exactly where each of the east coast states are.

    But at least when someone says they are from Connecticut I know it’s in the upper east near NY, Massachusetts, and Jersey.

    Doesn’t know where Minnesota is. Pitiful.

  3. cari permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:40 am

    are. you. serious?!

    ok. remember back about 100 years ago when we found that map game on addicting games? she NEEDS to discover that game.

    but… minnesota is effing HUGE. seriously. my brain hurts thinking about her. ugh. i’m done. ha.

  4. June 16, 2009 3:15 pm

    Wow. It surprises me that people sometimes still don’t get where things are in relation to others. It kinda makes my head hurt.

Leave a Reply

