Skip to content

Happiness, Part 2

June 15, 2009

Last night I couldn’t sleep.

First I pulled out my journal and wrote a few pages.

Then I hopped onto the computer and ran through all of my groups on 20sb, since I hardly ever look at the groups.  I found a few interesting discussions… old ones.  I smiled.

Then I went back to bed and listened to a little Bobby McFerrin.  Yes, the entire album which includes “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” is on my iPod, and I not only listened to “Don’t Worry, Be Happy,” but “Good Lovin” and “Sunshine of Your Love,” Bobby style.

(as a note, within my immediate family, we have a copy of that album on vinyl, on cassette tape, and on CD (and obviously I’ve put it on my iPod). because we’re awesome.)

Still couldn’t sleep.  Played White Light Riot’s Atomism for awhile and played solitaire.  Marveled at how amazing those Minnesota kids really are.

Still couldn’t sleep.

Said to hell with it with my bed AND the air mattress in the other room and hit the couch for a late night viewing of Grease.

I have next to nothing.  I mean, obviously I have a lot, but I can’t say I deserve most of it.

And you know what?  It’s really hard to find the motivation to look for more when all I really see coming of “more” is more stuff.  Who needs more stuff?
No one, really.
I understand that money is important for a number of reasons.  But I have less now than I’ve ever had and you know what?

I’m the happiest I’ve ever been.

I have my days like everybody does.
I struggle quite a bit.

I definitely wish I could just get in my car and drive away for the weekend more often than not.

But I’ve got pens and paper and Bobby McFerrin and a couch to fall asleep on while Frankie Avalon croons “Beauty School Dropout” at me.

I’ve got amazing friends who are only a phone call or a facebook message or a blog comment away.

And singing costs nothing.

There are many, many things I’d like to do with my life and the time I have to spend.  I hope I can figure out how to make some money doing them so that I don’t always have to worry about how I’m going to pay the rent next month, and in fact I’d like to be stable enough to help support a family someday.

But if I have to choose the money or the happiness?

I’m gonna choose the happiness.

ps- wanna be my fan on facebook? :) http://www.facebook.com/pages/Courtney-Olson/207844950537?ref=mf

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cari permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:34 am

    true. true. you got wisdom, girl.

  2. Just Playing Pretend permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:11 pm

    hapiness is the best choice. good girl.

  3. June 16, 2009 9:42 pm

    good choice. ;) i concur.

  4. kristinwood permalink
    June 18, 2009 11:58 am

    I love this post. Money means nothing, and (most) jobs mean nothing, and it is just so silly that we get defined by our source of income instead of what we do with our truly free time. I am a writer and a wife and whatever else I CHOOSE to be WAAAAAY before I am anyone’s employee.
    I wrote a semi-identical blog post a little over a month ago. :)

Leave a Reply

