Skip to content

Until next time…

June 30, 2009

DSCN5298Molly and I had just met, hugged, loaded my stuff on up to her apartment, and headed down to Michigan Avenue where a few more of my favorite people were wandering around. When we finally saw them, Derek’s hands flew up in the air, and as we crossed the street toward them, I found myself in the middle of a reunion even sweeter than I’d imagined it could be.

“It’s so amazing to see you again!” I said, hugging the living daylights out of him.
“It is amazing to see you again, too,” he replied.

And as we pulled out of our embrace, before I knew what was happening I was enveloped in another hug, tighter and even more excited, with a voice in my ear saying, “I’ve been waiting forever to meet you!”  I knew immediately that this thing happening between me and Lily was love.

And the love grew.

It’s amazing, really, to be a part of something so big and so new.  We are a big group of people who have been hanging out for weeks or months or even years, though many of us have never laid eyes on each other.  Even those of us who haven’t read each other’s blogs know someone else who has.  Friends of friends.  It’s easy to put bloggers together in a room.  We’ve all got connections.  Do it and you’ll watch the love grow.

Quickly.

A group of us walked outside, getting ready to head to the pizza place for some of the most amazing pizza I have EVER eaten, when I heard a voice from behind say, “Courtney!”

There was Nico, in his first appearance of the weekend, standing outside the door, and he had recognized me (by the back of my head, no less) immediately.

I exclaimed, “NICO!” and practically bowled him over as I wrapped my arms around his neck to say hello.  And when I pulled back I kind of laughed and said, “Oh yeah. Um… nice to meet you.”  He and I found ourselves in conversations that night accusing one another of something or teasing about another, and he just kept shaking his head, saying, “We just met.  It’s crazy how much we know about each other.

We live in the future.”

DSCN5318We do kind of live in the future.  And do you know what the future is like?  The future is a place where you will meet some of your very best friends on the internet.

Derek and Lily spent Thursday night on the phone with Rachel, tagteaming the poor girl’s sanity away.  I played along a little bit but I’m a softy and I didn’t want to push anything.  Rachel hadn’t been planning on coming to Chicago, though we all knew she really wanted to, she hadn’t been able to make it work.  As the three of us sat sharing pizza that night, Lily got a phone call and before we knew it Derek and I were laughing so hard we were nearly crying because she was FREAKING. OUT.

Because Rachel was on the other end and yes, she had just purchased herself a plane ticket.

Chicago in less than 20 hours.

And that is when I declared that Derek and Lily were MY HEROES.
I love me some Jersey Girl.  They made it happen.

And the rest of the weekend?

It blurs together.

There was wine and beer.  There were hugs and kisses flying around. There were temporary tattoos and there was much discussion of Michael Jackson.  There was dancing and cab rides and photos and youtube videos and Chicago deep dish pizza and counting 20 dollar bills and falling in love with fountains.  There was walking and sunlight gleaming from the tops of buildings and using twitter to talk to the people standing right next to you.  There was wine tasting with the coolest wine guy serving the most delicious wine I’ve ever tasted.  There were locals who just wanted to know what our awesome matching bags full of stuff were all about.  There were bars and DJs and landmarks and so many truly awesome people, it’s hard to begin trying to name them.

DSCN5314Chicago doesn’t sleep.  My head would hit the pillow at 2 or 3 or 6 am, depending on what night it was, and still, Chicago would be buzzing outside the window.  Sure, we all slept a little bit, but not as much as we drank and ate and walked and talked, and one day became another until suddenly it was Monday morning and the out of town girls had flown out the night before and Chicago was no longer under the influence of excited bloggers with so much to say that time didn’t matter and I was packing my suitcase and saying goodbye to Molly and heading downtown to see Derek one last time before I left the city.

And such a low key send-off– coffee, reminiscing, acting more like old friends than people who by all rights should still barely know each other… it was almost fitting.  It was fitting.  I’d have never been there in the first place if it hadn’t been for D- not only because he was the one planning it but because this whole love affair with 20sb started when I met him in Chicago in January and spent a truly beautiful, low-key evening with him.

Chicago was much different without the snow, though, in case you were wondering.

All in all, I am more than pleased.

I am overwhelmed with all of the real memories I have, the faces I’ve now seen in 3-D, the voices I’ve now got locked away in the back of my mind.

I don’t know when we’ll get to do it again…

But we’ll have to.

Yes?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 8:53 pm

    You’re a doll. Glad you could make it and we could finally meet!

  2. June 30, 2009 9:01 pm

    i love you. best 20 hours of my life. your the best. the end.

  3. June 30, 2009 9:06 pm

    We do live in the future. And speaking of the future, we will do this again soon. =)

  4. cari permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:15 pm

    i’m surprised that you were able to put this weekend into words. even if they weren’t enough. even if they could never be enough, you still did it. and you made me insanely jealous. because i wish i could have been there. oh so much. but i’m glad that you had such a good time. i can’t wait to hear all the nitty gritty details. <3

  5. June 30, 2009 9:51 pm

    Awww seems like fun!

  6. June 30, 2009 10:17 pm

    I love your style of writing.

  7. July 2, 2009 6:58 pm

    Sounds like summer camp…

    oh how I loved summer camp.

    Glad you had fun! You deserve it!

  8. July 3, 2009 5:14 pm

    Woo-hoo! Really, that’s all I can say :)

  9. July 6, 2009 5:38 pm

    This post gets the profound slow clap.

    *clap*

    . . . . .

    *clap*

    . . . . . .

    *clap*

    (etc.)

  10. July 8, 2009 8:43 pm

    Nico’s right, we should do this again soon! I guess a small bunch of people are heading to NYC, but I would love another meet-up in Chicago. Hopefully next summer!

Trackbacks

  1. Reflecting on Magnificent, Epic and Wonderful « .:: phampants ::.
  2. We’re All Just Normal People « .:: phampants ::.
  3. The Heart in a Jar | CourtneyOlson.com

Leave a Reply

