Skip to content

a letter

July 9, 2009

I wrote a letter back in November or December of ’08, and trying to do a little computer organization yesterday afternoon I ran across it.  It is a letter that was sent, but I’m posting it here for you now because I think it illustrates perfectly the reasons I am truly passionate about music, why it is the instrument I want to use to do my life’s work.  Because it’s not just about the music, it’s about the people you can reach and the good you can do.

It is also a fantastic explanation of the reasons Jason Mraz is MY HERO.

Jason,

Four years ago I wrote you a letter, and even at that point I had pretty much grown out of the “fan letter” thing, so the fact that I wrote it at all spoke volumes about how much your music meant to me.  Now, four years later (and way too old to be acting like a fangirl) I’m writing to you again.  I don’t know how many letters and emails you must get or if you’ll have time or energy read this closely or fully or at all, but the fact remains that I really want to say these things, so I’m saying them, hoping they can mean something to you like they do to me.

Since I first heard the Rocket record, you’ve been a driving force in my life.  I’m a songwriter, and hearing that record changed the way I wrote and sang.  I started reading your blog, which at that point went back to your Java Joe’s days, and I read your thoughts as your hard work came to fruition.  It was inspiring on a professional level for a little girl just starting college and trying to figure out where to take her life.  Yet, you weren’t afraid of writing really personally either, and I’m sure at that point it was because you weren’t known all around the world and felt like you had more free reign of your own words.  I’m glad I found you then, though, because it added this aspect of humanity that was hard to find in the other artists I’d been listening to until then.

I continued to be a huge fan– bought the Live CD/DVD, pre-ordered Mr. A-Z, and bought WSWDWST on its drop date.  With each new batch of material I’ve found new sources of inspiration, wisdom, humor, and love.  Especially concerning your latest album, I love the musician and artist you’ve become, and I love thinking about the person you must be to create this kind of music.

I finally had my first chance to see you play live in Minneapolis recently.  I was so excited, but almost afraid to see you play in person.  I mean, what if you sucked?  What if the real you ruined who I thought you were supposed to be?  I needn’t have worried, and I found out that seeing you live was the best thing I could have done for myself.  As far as my perception of you– I think you’re even more wonderful.  Your performance was spot on, I finally have a tone of voice to go with the humor I’m so used to reading in your journals, and watching you move to your own music was energizing and entertaining.  You inspired me, once again, as a songwriter and definitely as a singer, but also, tonight, as a performer.  You’ve got it down and you’re not afraid to get up there and have as much fun as humanly possible.  Beyond that, though, you inspired me on a deeper level.  You are a spiritual leader, Jason.  You see deeper into the heart of life than most people want to or have the capability to.  You reach in and you find all of the good, and instead of keeping it for yourself, you spread the wealth around.  You DO live high and mighty, and that’s what is so incredible about it all– your music reflects you.  The whole world feels like it KNOWS you… and maybe we don’t.  Maybe we don’t know you at all, but we’d like to think we do.

I didn’t have the slightest shred of audacity to hope you’d play “Who Needs Shelter” at the show.  There were some omissions I was certainly surprised about, but I never expected to hear “Who Needs Shelter.”  Never.  I thought I was the only one in the world who really appreciated that song, but then you came out, announcing it as one of your very favorites, and I knew I wasn’t crazy.  I knew there was a reason I really connected with you.

I’m about to make my move to Nashville to try to be a singer and a songwriter… and I’m sure the Nashville scene isn’t really your thing, but I want you to know, I’m carrying all you’ve done for me all the way there and all the way through.  Why do any of us make music?  For ourselves, yes, but really, in the hopes of sharing the human condition through words and melodies.  You have taught me that there are so many ways to do that, to share, to connect, to live like that.

That’s why it’s easy to thank you.

And Jason? I’d like to say how truly bright you are.  You don’t know me, but I know you.  See, you’re my favorite.

Courtney

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 11:10 pm

    I’m not familiar with “Jason” but I understand your passion. I am a musician (pianist) too, and I know what it means to have someone who is truly your idol. Hope you make it far with your music career!

Leave a Reply

